How to Stabilize Your AMD Ryzen Memory and CPU Overclocking Attempts

Discussion in '[H]ard|OCP Front Page News' started by cageymaru, May 1, 2017.

  1. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard|News

    Messages:
    16,484
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    I found this video of Robert Hallock from AMD explaining how to overclock AMD Ryzen memory and CPU cores to be informative as it lifts the veil from some of the settings that you will find on a typical Ryzen motherboard. He explains some of the limits that AMD suggests for their processors in terms of voltages and delves into memory voltage settings. He then meticulously details how to stabilize your overclock! Robert starts his presentation at the 3:20 mark for those that must skip ahead.

    What speeds have you hit while overclocking AMD Ryzen processors? Anyone get above 3200 on the memory? Tell us in the link below!
     
    dgz and mesyn191 like this.
  2. daglesj

    daglesj [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,514
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Interesting video. I love how he goes in places "Don't go higher than that or you are in trouble!"

    In that case you would think they would narrow the range of options and voltages or highlight the dangerous ones in red.
     
    cageymaru likes this.
  3. Chebsy

    Chebsy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    he makes it look so easy !!!
     
    Ocellaris and cageymaru like this.
  4. earnolmartin

    earnolmartin Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    499
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    My Ryzen build has been nothing but a nightmare, and I've never even tried to overclock it.

    I had the same issue as this guy with random BSODs in Windows 7 and Windows 10 indicating Memory Management, Driver IRQL Not Less or Equal, and Faulty Hardware:

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us...en-build/837daeb4-2d48-46a2-b018-f5e3c43cafb0

    I finally got it stable again after doing the following:

    In my ASUS PRIME B350-PLUS AM4 BIOS, I went to "Advanced" -> "AMD CBS" (near the bottom) -> "Global C-state Control" -> and set it to "Disabled".

    Memtest passed the RAM (ran for 24 hours on 8GB).

    Would possibly look into overclocking, but I already feel like an alpha tester, and I doubt I'll ever build a new PC on a new processor that is younger than 6-12 months old. Too many problems at launch. Once you go AMD, you never go AMD again? Never had this problem with my i7 920 builds back in 09.
     
  5. Sovereign

    Sovereign 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,080
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    I got MEMORY_MANAGEMENT at stock speeds--even though it was working "okay" through 4 hours of memtest. RMA-ed the RAM, no more BSODs.

    That said, I can't get past 2933 because my motherboad (X370 Taichi) forces memory to run at 1T command rate whereas its built-in XMP (which was designed for Intel before Ryzen existed) assumes 2T.

    Unfortunately this video doesn't seem to have any tips for "Won't even boot at X setting." My motherboard tries 3200, tries, tries, tries, fails, and defaults to 2133. I think this sort of assumes you can at least get into BIOS at that speed--I can't.
     
  6. Maxx

    Maxx [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,027
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Fully agree with him on using Prime95 (22:01). Seems a lot of people have moved away from that but it's tried and true. I spent a long time getting my (non-Ryzen) signature build stable and I could pass RealBench/x264 and MemTest at lower voltages (8 hrs) for both CPU and RAM but it was only with small FTT and blend (10 hrs) that I got 100% undeniably stable with the help of higher voltages for both. Also, only manual settings for me (default RAM profile on these is CL14/2400, uncore is stable at 4.3 but not 4.4, etc). Bottom line is that it takes work and people are too keen for easy solutions and relatively short-term builds (buying new hardware every time something better comes along) but I'm budget-conscious.

    Anyway, only did one Ryzen build for someone, but he had no OC interest, so it's going to be a bit longer for me to experience those trials!
     
  7. kirtar

    kirtar Gawd

    Messages:
    587
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
  8. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard|News

    Messages:
    16,484
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    If your memory isn't on the manufacturer's QVL list, you're going to have to figure it out on your own. With that said, my Corsair memory wasn't on my AsRock mobo's list. So I inputted the XMP profile into the bios and it sorta worked. It would default the memory to 2133 from time to time, even though I gave it 2666 settings. I ended up using Ryzen Master to input the XMP profile and it works quite well. Only catch is with using Ryzen Master is that you have to refresh your profile every time that you update the mobo drivers. Which is no big deal really; just have to remember to do so.

    I would follow the directions that Robert gave in the video and give it a try again. Anything over 2133 speeds is an overclock performed on DDR4 memory. There is no such thing as 2666, 3000, 3200, 4000, etc. Those are all memory manufacturer overclocking of 2133 DDR4 and may require more voltage to get it stable.
     
  9. OpStar

    OpStar Gawd

    Messages:
    592
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    I have been lucky I guess but my Ryzen system has been flawless. I got Flare X which was on the QVL and OC to 4Ghz Prime stable without issue. I've been very happy with my setup, despite all the obvious growing pains it seems like a lot are experiencing.
     
  10. ole-m

    ole-m Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    206
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    I bought the cheapest I could get...
    that goes for cpu, memory and motherboard, I've overclocked the already out of support 2666 mhz to 2933 on 2x 8gb dimms using vram + 16-16-16-36 timings which is it's rated 2666 .

    I also have Asus B350, however the M-A (m-atx) which lacks cooling.

    My experience is somewhat the same as new Intel platforms usually are with Memory.


    Anyways my reason for commenting is the ohms, I have a feeling he meant the opposite, below 40 ohms require Liquid Nitrogen as lower ohms induce higher currents which induce higher power consumption :)
     
  11. Celt

    Celt n00bie

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    I am running a Ryzen 1700 with G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3600C16D-16GTZSW on the C6H motherboard. I have been through a number of Bios revisions and am currently on the 1107 UEFI. It has been excellent, I think Asus is progressing with each test iteration. As anyone who has a Ryzen rig knows, no matter what motherboard, it is early days for this platform. I do commend the Asus folk and particularly Elmor for his support and efforts. I am using the Zenstates application he wrote, which lets you setup and modify your P-states overclocks within Windows simply and reliably, making dialing things so much easier. It's a fantastic tool.

    At this point I am running:

    P0 at 3.95 GHz - 1.418V
    P1 at 30 GHz - 1.05V
    P2 at 20 GHz - .875V

    All P-states are passing stress testing. DRAM is at 3200 MHz with 14-14-14-14-34 timings.

    I can boot and run at anywhere from 3.95 to 4.0 GHz, but I have set myself a self imposed limit of 1.425 volts - not just on settings, but as a maximum observed peak value.

    During stress testing I average 57.7 C Tctl, and drop down to around 28 C in idle/browsing loads.

    I could increase my memory frequency further with a BCLK bump, but my sound card does not like that. I hope to see higher DRAM multipliers when the May Update comes out. If you own a C6H, I recommend the "ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread" at Overclock.net, it is a great resource.
     
  12. bl4C3y3

    bl4C3y3 n00bie

    Messages:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    not problem at all on:
    - Ryzen 1700
    - Asus Crosshair VI Hero (bios 1002)
    - Corsair Vengance LED 3200 (2x8GB)

    but in the "extreme tweaker" menu, I have used preset "DOCP standard" and then the RAM speed/timings/voltage were set correctly
    (when only setting the memory to 3200, the voltage was not correct, and no simple way to change it to 1.35V ... so the preset "DOCP standard" is key here)
     
  13. tybert7

    tybert7 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,578
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Now that is useful info, I'll go through this when I finish my build. My core system is here, just need to finish connecting the cables on the mb and the power supply and gpu

    https://pcpartpicker.com/list/BQLDyf

    got a new case and m.2 ssd


    Robert used the msi x370 carbon

    I got the zero reviewed b350 carbon board, I might be one of the first reviews, but if the settings are like the other one, I might have decent compatibility and settings.