How to share files in Win2K Server?

DatHak512

Gawd
Okay. Normally file sharing is easy. But this is my first try with 2K Server.
1. Right click on the folder i want to share.
2. Click "Sharing..."
3. Click "Share this folder" (User limit is default to Maximum Allowed.)
4. Click "Permissions"
5. There's one name "Everyone" in the share permissions tab. Under Permissions i make sure "Read" is set to "Allow" and all the other check-boxes are empty.
6. Click OK a bunch of times.

No matter what i do in step 5, i can only connect to the computer if i type in the one and only username and password. I would like to set it up so that if you authenticate (enter the admin name / password) you have full permissions, but otherwise you will have read access only. Can anyone help me here? I'm just doing the same thing that i've always done in 2000 Pro and XP Pro.

OK, that's the share permissions. What are the NTFS permissions set to under the security tab? The best way to administer shared files or folders is to grant everyone the share permission and then get grainular in the NTFS permissions (yes, i know everyone and their mother will have a "better" way or some funky way to do this but IMHO, this is the way to go)

Example, set the share to allow everyone full control. Then under NTFS permissions add the local administrator account (or domain account, whatever way you have set up) and then add other users with read only permissions or whatever permissons you want them to have.

The thing to remember is the most restrictive permisson wins when combining share and NTFS permissons.

Okay, cool. I'll give this a shot.
But do you know wheather or not people will be able to still access the share w/o any username and password?