How to convert ipod songs to mp3 format?

Rob94hawk

2[H]4U
I remember hearing about a program that converted ipod songs to mp3 format. Anyone? Trying to do a search but no luck.

What do you mean by iPod songs? You mean songs you buy with iTunes? Would be illegal as far as I know. Bypassing copy-protection, no?

You mean songs you buy with iTunes? Would be illegal as far as I know. Bypassing copy-protection, no?

This is correct.... however, if you are asking how to convert aac files, that you legally converted to aac format, or imported into iTunes in aac format... you can easily find converters... a simple Google search is all you need, there are many. I am not going to recommend one because I have no need for such software, therefore I have no experience with any of them.

SoundTaxi I think is the one a lot of people use. Its not free though (as I remember).

Look in the freeware thread at my post on Super.

It doesn't say anything on converting ipod tunes to mp3.

Unfortunately my daughters drive is running out of space with all of the itunes she has and she almost lost them trying to move them so I rather just convert them to mp3 and put them on another drive.

I've used iTunes before, but never needed to move the songs. You can't move the iTunes music folder and still have iTunes play the songs? Why do they have to be in mp3 format?

she almost lost them trying to move them so I rather just convert them to mp3 and put them on another drive.

What difference will having them in mp3 format make? It's not going to change anything, as far as moving them goes. Just copy the entire iTunes music folder and move it over to another drive, and once that's successfully done go back and remove the original folder. You will need to re-direct iTunes so it knows where to find the files, but that's about all you'll need to do.