how to connect Microsoft Windows Storage Server 2003 to Novell Netware 6.5

DESmack

Weaksauce
Hi,

I have never used Novel before but I need to figure this problem out.

I need figure out how to connect Microsoft Windows Storage Server 2003 to Novell Netware 6.5. The shares will come from Windows but how do I manage the security and login scripts for this from Novell Directory Services? I was thinking DIR XML possibly? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

The question is pretty lite on details and I have never tried to integrate a windows server into a Novell envrionment, but I'll reply anyway. :D

The two things that come to mind I would look at would be installing eDirectory on the Windows box or using DirXML to sync accounts between NDS and AD. Of course I'm making all sorts of assumptions, but my thinking is that the first option may allow the management of the servers resources directly through eDir (I've never installed eDir on Windows, so I really dont know how it behaves). The DirXML idea would let you sync accounts and then manage the windows shares as you normally would.

Are you trying to get interoperability between two existing systems or is this windows box a new addition to an existing Novell environment?

Frobozz,

Thank you for your reply. The server is a new nas running hp storage works windows 2003, so no AD is available... I am a Novell novice.. but from my reading today I gathered that I would need to do some sort of account replication. But unconfirmed...