How does Iphone syncing work?

shatterstar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 19, 2011
Messages
264
Ok a friend of mine who is computer/electronic illiterate has asked me to help sync his Iphone contacts to his office computer & his home computer. He has about 2000 contacts on his outlook and I'm sure he has stored information on his office computer that is not stored on his home computer and vice-versa. My question is if on his iphone he had a contact in there by the name "John Doe" with some information and if he had the same contact name "John Doe" on his office computer as well but only with slightly different information how would this end up syncing?

Will it merge both information together?
Will it overide one?
Will both exist as 2 different contacts?
 
Define "slightly different information". In all likelihood, they would be listed as two separate contacts, but it depends on the information contained within.
 
You can only sync with one computer AFAIK. Unless something changed recently, it will tell you it needs to wipe the data and resync if you plug it into a computer that it hasn't been syncing with.

Best solution is to pick one computer to sync to (home is recommended) and merge both contact lists with two groups, business and home, on the home computer. Then sync the work address book to the home computer (on your own figuring that part out)
 
Well, it seems when you connect your iPhone to a computer, you have to sync the data in your iTunes ID. So you should connect the net and find the information in iTunes, but not computer. What happened? Do I misunderstand?

No you are syncing with the computer.

Syncing to your "iTunes ID" would mean syncing to iCloud, a much different thing the OP is trying to accomplish.

When you sync your iphone with your computer through USB cord or over wifi, it is syncing I with that specific computer, as you can sync that info such as contacts, calendars, notes, etc with different programs on the computer through iTunes (ex sync iPhone with iTunes, through which you sync an MS Outlook contact list.)

When you sync to one computer, then take it and plug it into another, the second computer will say "this iPhone has been synced with a different computer, would you like to erase and sync with this one?"
 
A little confused. I would also like to know the final solution. The same problem...
 
Back
Top