How does a chiller work? some what noob.

tylerdustin2008

[H]ard|Gawd
I know how a water loop chiller hooked up works, but how dows a "CHILLER" work. Does it not need a return? And what type of rad are those really thick ones that i see people using? Also can i get some links where i can see prices on these items?

And i know this has been posted bfore but i would like to ask my own questions to get the answer i want, or i hope.

Thanks for the help ahead of time.

Tyler

I have had 24 views at this thread but no responses. I guess the experts on this subject are on vaction.

Well if you look at a air conditioner it has a return. It is a loop, comes back gets heated up then cooled again.

ac-cycle.gif

The really thick one you see people using is a phase change unit. The return tubing is in with the tubing going to the cpu. It works on the same principles as the inside of an air conditioner. I think this is what you're asking. I am by no means an expert on it, so hopfully some of our other forum members that are more educated on the topic will jump in on this one.

Yea you did help, i did not know the return was in the same line. But how does it return? It is frozen right? Or is that the gas just really cold? And where can i buy compressors, i want a new one not a used one.

All the cooling parts are in the chiller itself. If you were to take one apart you'd see basically what you have in the pic there. The water part is separate, kinda intertwined or around half of your pic. Get a window air conditioner, that's the cheapest way.

That might be the cheapest way, but i dont want to buy the whole thing. And moneys not a problem, and i dont want a thermo chill, i want to build one.

A compressor by itself? Then you will have to put it together (brazing?), charge it up with gas that you may or may not be allowed to legally obtain (some license)... etc. An AC is ready made, just put the evaporator in a res. If you insist look for Danfoss or something.

444 said: