How do you manage dns in dmz perimeter?

acesea

Limp Gawd
Our ISP may offer to provide reverse dns delegation. Looking for best solution for our dmz network with some mail transport and web servers using several different aliasing domain names. Will test in esxi lab then move to esxi production. I have no experience with domain name servers beyond internal Microsoft Active Directory ecosystems.

What would I need to have prepared for when applying for reverse dns delegation thru ISP? Any additional configurations recommended for peak synergy between the perimeter dns coexisting with Edge Transport in dmz serving several domain aliases and the internal lan Windows 2008r2 dns?

PowerDNS, Bind9, MyDNS, djbdns, nsd all appear relatively solid. Wanting to start with some training wheels before going hardcore or cli.. unless there's a good resource that'll quickly equip my mental and xp.

Heard of Simple Management for BIND aka Smbind which is a PHP-based tool for managing DNS zones for BIND via the web. http://sourceforge.net/projects/smbind/. Also found a friendly web interface for PowerDNS https://www.poweradmin.org/trac/.

Open to all comments and OS platforms as well as who and why I should entertain offsite hosted dns in the cloud. Thanks

I can answer questions if you want to be a bit more specific, for now it sounds like you should just do some readin up on DNS hosting. Generally unless you own the IP block, your ISP will maintain control of your PTR records for you, it's not really that much of a hassle.
I personally use pDNS backed by BIND9 on CentOS for my production DNS server, windows server DNS internally.
BIND isn't really very comples, easy to manage by itself. I use SVN (subversion) for my version control with BIND, jsut do an SVN CO via shellscript to update my records and then restart my PDNS service gracefully to load the new records.