How can I load my HD sata drivers without a floppy?

LiquidX

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
3,728
Is it possible to eject the windows cd and put in another cd when it asks for the drives or can it be done from a usb pen drive? I dont have a floppy and would rather not get one. Any help is apreciated.
 

djnes

Fully [H]
Joined
Mar 24, 2000
Messages
19,560
You have three options:

1) Get a floppy
2) Manually edit a bunch of files so you can add them to your Windows CD.
3) Get an motherboard with an Intel chipset so you don't need extra drivers.
 

LiquidX

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
3,728
I guess this is my option.

2) Manually edit a bunch of files so you can add them to your Windows CD.
But how can you do this before installing the os?
 

Scroatdog

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 17, 2003
Messages
1,432
Assuming you have another working computer you can do this on, you can visit this link and follow the instructions.

LINK

Good Luck! Oh, and it works. I've done it.
 

LiquidX

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
3,728
Thing is I have a AMD 64 settup Scroatdog so it may not work for me but I will read into it. Thanks.
 

Ranma_Sao

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
2,592
It will work as long as you have x64 drivers. Note, just getting a USB floppy is hella easier.
 

Ranma_Sao

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
2,592
Some Bios's will mount a USB key as a floppy. Which if your lucky, it will work. I agree that the floppy thing is a real bad idea, however there are real technical reasons why you have to have a floppy driver, or a bios supported device that NTLDR can "see."
 
Top