How am I doing so far? (ballistix 2x1gb)

[k]ar|

Gawd
I decided to splash out on the Ballistix BL2KIT12864Z503 (2 x 1Gb), and ATM I'm seeing how high it will go before I start on the FX (I'm following the [H] A64 OC'ing guide for n00bs :rolleyes: ).

I just finished my first runs, using MemTest to test for initial stability. I cranked my CPU multi down to 10, set HTT at 4x and locked the PCI at 33 & PCI-express at 100. I left the memclock at 400, dropped to 1t command rate, but left the latencies at stock 3-4-4-8 for now.

I just ran 2 passes of MemTest without errors at 255 (@ 2.8v) which looks OK for a start - I tried for 260 (@ 2.9v) but MemTest threw up a lot of red :eek: .

I'm still a bit new to this whole A64 OC'ing thing - is that an OK result? I was hoping to get a bit higher, but in a brilliant move :rolleyes: I went for the Asus mobo rather than the DFI. Any tips on how I can squeeze a bit more out of my ram? I rigged up a temporary RAM fan but that didn't seem to do a whole lot.

Thanks in advance!

[k]

thats a decent result for the 2x 1gb crucial ballistix. i have seen some people who got 20-30mhz more out of em.

Change the command rate from 1T to 2T and it should overclock much higher! I also have an ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe mobo and Ballistix (2x512MB) ram. This mobo has a well known bug with 1T not working at clocks higher than 240-250. ASUS has not fixed this yet.

Thanks for the comments!

Looks like 250 @ 2.8v might be the maximum for me as well. 255 wasn't prime95 stable, even though MemTest ran through twice without any issues. Upping the voltage to 2.9 didn't help either - I backed off to 250 and running the Prime95 torture test and SuperPi 32m simultaneously for 10 mins, things initially look to be OK.