Home office network hardware advice (Cisco vs Juniper)

joshu

Limp Gawd
Hi

I need some advice regarding the purchase of new network hardware for my home office. At home I have two VMware vSphere hosts running several virtual machines including an email server. My internet connection is 24Mbit ADSL and I currently have an Airport Extreme connected directly to the ADSL modem.

I want to replace the Airport with a proper security firewall and after many hours of research I've narrowed down my choices to the following:

OPTION 1
Cisco ASA 5505 Security Plus + Cisco Aironet 1142n

OPTION 2
Juniper SRX 100 + Juniper AX411

The reason I have chosen the Security Plus license is that I need more VLANS than is offered by the base license, so that I can separate traffic coming from the internet to some of my virtual machines.

I'm not a networking expert and I have minimal experience of setting up a Cisco ASA 5505 (base) once for a small company. I've never used Juniper devices.

I'm leaning more towards OPTION 1 as I'm confused about some of the features of Juniper's hardware. I am a Mac user and need to provide VPN access to my network from both Macs, iPhones and iPads. This is easily done with the ASA5505 as I can use the native Cisco IPSec clients. However, with Juniper my understanding is that I would need Junos Pulse which is a free app, but I haven't been able to find any explanation as to how this works and if there are an hidden costs involved.

Another Juniper concern I have is the cost of software upgrades and maintenance. For Cisco I have been able to find online SmartNet resellers (on Cisco's partner list) and get an idea of the cost. I haven't found pricing information for Juniper maintenance.

My ideal solution would be a "box" that combines the ASA 5505 Sec Plus with WIFI-N, but the closest I've seen is a Cisco 881W and it's not a proper firewall. If only the base ASA 5505 had the security plus features my choice would probably be even easier.