High VID on 5950X?

JCNiest5

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
3,990
It seems my VID (according to CoreTemp) is running high. This is on my X570 AORUS Master. Is VID the same as vcore voltage? It's running 1.4740v even when doing nothing, or just web browsing. Is that considered high? Overdrive Boost is set to Auto in the BIOS.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
516
1618966099886.png
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
516
It seems my VID (according to CoreTemp) is running high. This is on my X570 AORUS Master. Is VID the same as vcore voltage? It's running 1.4740v even when doing nothing, or just web browsing. Is that considered high? Overdrive Boost is set to Auto in the BIOS.
VID is vcore and I try to set that as low as possible. The lower I can set my vcore, the higher my PBO is able to overclock. 1.47 seems crazy high and would probably make your cpu hot AF.
 

JCNiest5

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
3,990
VID is vcore and I try to set that as low as possible. The lower I can set my vcore, the higher my PBO is able to overclock. 1.47 seems crazy high and would probably make your cpu hot AF.
In the BIOS, it's set to AUTO with a 1.2000V value, but in CoreTemp, it fluctuates anywhere between 1.4375v and 1.4812v. PBO is set to Auto. Is this PBO setting to AUTO making this high VID?
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
27,370
In the BIOS, it's set to AUTO with a 1.2000V value, but in CoreTemp, it fluctuates anywhere between 1.4375v and 1.4812v. PBO is set to Auto. Is this PBO setting to AUTO making this high VID?
check for LLC settings enabled in bios, try lower settings if its on auto.
 

hajalie24

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
1,393
I had this issue with my 5800x. It was in the 1.4-1.5 range for core voltage. My CPU got really hot, even with a liquid AIO cooler. My MB also reported 1.4v+ in the BIOS

For a simple solution, I used my motherboard's auto overclocking option and it lowered the voltage to the 1.2 range while increasing the base clock to 4.2ghz. Not sure why the hell it defaults the voltage so high, but from reading around it seems like this is a common problem.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
27,370
I had this issue with my 5800x. It was in the 1.4-1.5 range for core voltage. My CPU got really hot, even with a liquid AIO cooler. My MB also reported 1.4v+ in the BIOS

For a simple solution, I used my motherboard's auto overclocking option and it lowered the voltage to the 1.2 range while increasing the base clock to 4.2ghz. Not sure why the hell it defaults the voltage so high, but from reading around it seems like this is a common problem.
yeah its "common" for auto to be aggressive. on my board i have a voltage offset option that i set to -.075v. op could try that too. he says he has it set to 1.2 so i think the LLC might be jacking it up.
 

JCNiest5

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
3,990
check for LLC settings enabled in bios, try lower settings if its on auto.
I must not be doing something correctly. I've looked for options for Vcore Loadline Calibration, it has no voltage offset, it only has Auto, Normal, Low, Turbo, Extreme, etc... Nothing to type in a number for any offset. Maybe I didn't look in the correct menu. Strange, my Asus TUF Gaming B550-Plus with a 2700X is behaving the same manner - high VID and it runs hot! Goes up to 85 even with an AIO Corsair watercooler. I looked in the BIOS, but I'm completely lost on which option is for what. The only option I know is to set it to XMP. Everything else is at Auto. Same case for the Gigabyte board.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
27,370
I must not be doing something correctly. I've looked for options for Vcore Loadline Calibration, it has no voltage offset, it only has Auto, Normal, Low, Turbo, Extreme, etc... Nothing to type in a number for any offset. Maybe I didn't look in the correct menu. Strange, my Asus TUF Gaming B550-Plus with a 2700X is behaving the same manner - high VID and it runs hot! Goes up to 85 even with an AIO Corsair watercooler. I looked in the BIOS, but I'm completely lost on which option is for what. The only option I know is to set it to XMP. Everything else is at Auto. Same case for the Gigabyte board.

voltage offset and llc are two seperate things. if you found your llc, set it to low and see if the voltage comes down some.
 

III_Slyflyer_III

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2019
Messages
420
I'm not sure what to believe when it comes to the reported voltages... at Idle I run at about 38C, under all core load 58C, and sometimes when benching it hits around 65~68C.

The voltage is all over the place, but I'm pretty sure that's how it is supposed to operate and temps are well within tolerance of the chip (for me anyway). I tried different LLC, different negative Voltage Offsets, and while all did lower voltages, it also came at a cost of performance based on how the PBO curve works.

Quite simply, I use PBO, with a curve offset and I lowered the power limits for boosting (keeps things cool and boosts last longer!). I perform way better than "stock" and temps are in check. I don't even pay attention to the vcore voltage anymore as one second it is 0.96V and the next it is 1.48V.... lol. Depends on which, and how many, cores are boosting and at what speed.
 

Digital Viper-X-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
14,390
VID is vcore and I try to set that as low as possible. The lower I can set my vcore, the higher my PBO is able to overclock. 1.47 seems crazy high and would probably make your cpu hot AF.
Be careful, just because your clocks are higher, it doesn't mean performance is, do some testing. There have been some benchmarks that show higher clocks with the same or reduced performance when the voltage is too low.
 

JSHamlet234

Weaksauce
Joined
Apr 9, 2021
Messages
116
My understanding is that when the CPU is under light desktop loads, it boosts the clock and voltage on whatever core your web browser or OS or whatever is using. I noticed this on the 5800X I built for my sister. There would always be one core at ~4.85GHz and 1.45V, while the rest were snoozing (and which core it was would change constantly). Under a heavy all-core load, the voltage and clocks were much more in line with what I expected to see. I was impressed. I wish my old 5960X was as smart.
 

THUMPer

2[H]4U
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
3,596
Those voltages are normal. I have a feeling if you lower your voltage manually, you are going to be losing overall clock speed. If you want to keep performance, and lower voltage, you need to use Curve optimizer.
Here is a reddit post everyone should read from Robert Hallock

Quick blurb
Please note that it is totally normal for your Ryzen to use voltages in a range of 0.200V - 1.500V -- this is the factory operating range of the CPU. It is also totally normal for the temperature to cycle through 10°C swings as boost comes on and off. You will always see these characteristics, as they're intended, so do not be surprised to see such values. :)

Please do not undervolt the chip or set a maximum processor state of 99%. These are ineffective and/or detrimental changes.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/cbls9g/the_final_word_on_idle_voltages_for_3rd_gen_ryzen/
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
27,370
Those voltages are normal. I have a feeling if you lower your voltage manually, you are going to be losing overall clock speed. If you want to keep performance, and lower voltage, you need to use Curve optimizer.
Here is a reddit post everyone should read from Robert Hallock

Quick blurb
of course the marketing guy would say its all normal but people real experiences say otherwise.
 

Rvenger

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
2,445
VID is not Vcore in AMD terms. Mine is 1.5 but my VCORE is around 1.35v. Its a false reading. VID is used for Intel.
 

JCNiest5

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
3,990
voltage offset and llc are two seperate things. if you found your llc, set it to low and see if the voltage comes down some.
Yeap, I thought the same thing. I set it to Low, and in the Coretemp, it changes nothing. So, I put it back to Auto.
 

III_Slyflyer_III

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2019
Messages
420
I can confidently say if you are trying to overclock your Ryzen 5000 system with the same mentality you would an Intel system, you are 100% going about it wrong.

Seriously, the chip is smarter than you, don't fight it. I tried this myself coming from Intel; don't touch the LLC or CPU Voltage offsets unless you have some temperature requirement to do so, you will LOSE performance. Enable PBO, offset the curve in the direction you see fit and modify the PBO Current/Power settings to tweak boosting and temps as needed. It knows what it is doing and does a damn good job at it.
 

Digital Viper-X-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
14,390
I can confidently say if you are trying to overclock your Ryzen 5000 system with the same mentality you would an Intel system, you are 100% going about it wrong.

Seriously, the chip is smarter than you, don't fight it. I tried this myself coming from Intel; don't touch the LLC or CPU Voltage offsets unless you have some temperature requirement to do so, you will LOSE performance. Enable PBO, offset the curve in the direction you see fit and modify the PBO Current/Power settings to tweak boosting and temps as needed. It knows what it is doing and does a damn good job at it.

that is if you desire maximum 1-2 core clocks. If you want maximum all core clock, a good old fashion OC is still required.
 

III_Slyflyer_III

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2019
Messages
420
that is if you desire maximum 1-2 core clocks. If you want maximum all core clock, a good old fashion OC is still required.
What clock range are you talking about? By modifying my PBO Curve and Power Settings for the curve, I was able to maintain an all core boost of 4.8Ghz, under 100% load across all cores... single core (logging while gaming) will hit spikes of 5.2Ghz for me.
 

Digital Viper-X-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
14,390
What clock range are you talking about? By modifying my PBO Curve and Power Settings for the curve, I was able to maintain an all core boost of 4.8Ghz, under 100% load across all cores... single core (logging while gaming) will hit spikes of 5.2Ghz for me.

on what CPU? The max I was able to get on my 5900x with PBO was 4.3 on all 12 cores, Manual OC 4.7 on CCD0, and 4.625 on CCD1.
, and on the 5950x, 4.3 on 1 CCD and 4.1ish on the other using PBO, I haven't tried manually overclocking this one yet.

I'm talking about the 1-2 core loads, so my 5950 hit 5.1ghz on its "best cores" typically, gaming.

If it's the 5950x in your sig, I am doubtful that is a heavy load that is bringing it up to 4.8ghz.
Quick test would be to run Cinebench and watch the core speeds in ryzen master or Hwinfo64
 
Last edited:

JCNiest5

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
3,990
I don't actually overclock. Just need the VID to come down. It's running a little too high.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
27,370
I don't actually overclock. Just need the VID to come down. It's running a little too high.
anyone ask if your bios is up to date? make sure it is and then post a pic of the cpu config screen and the advance cpu config screen
 

Digital Viper-X-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
14,390
I don't actually overclock. Just need the VID to come down. It's running a little too high.

The high VID is normal, it's AMDs design, I had the same concern at first, but realized it's just the way the CPU works. if you look at the per core load under heavy load, it's much lower.
 

III_Slyflyer_III

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2019
Messages
420
on what CPU? The max I was able to get on my 5900x with PBO was 4.3 on all 12 cores, Manual OC 4.7 on CCD0, and 4.625 on CCD1.
, and on the 5950x, 4.3 on 1 CCD and 4.1ish on the other using PBO, I haven't tried manually overclocking this one yet.

I'm talking about the 1-2 core loads, so my 5950 hit 5.1ghz on its "best cores" typically, gaming.

If it's the 5950x in your sig, I am doubtful that is a heavy load that is bringing it up to 4.8ghz.
Quick test would be to run Cinebench and watch the core speeds in ryzen master or Hwinfo64
I'm on a 5950x on an x570 motherboard.

It's pretty warm upstairs in my office today; CPU temp with Prime95 right now is 68C... lol. So my "all core" boost is lower right now than when I tested 2 weeks ago on Prime95 (did not snag a SS then), but again... gaming, temps never reach this high or under such heavy load. But here is a quick snapshot of it warming my room up...
CoresPrime95run.JPG
 

Digital Viper-X-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
14,390
I'm on a 5950x on an x570 motherboard.

It's pretty warm upstairs in my office today; CPU temp with Prime95 right now is 68C... lol. So my "all core" boost is lower right now than when I tested 2 weeks ago on Prime95 (did not snag a SS then), but again... gaming, temps never reach this high or under such heavy load. But here is a quick snapshot of it warming my room up...
View attachment 351776
Not sure which Prime95 test you are running :) a couple don't really stress the CPU all that much.


Fire up Cinebench, run the all-core test and snag a SS then.
 

Digital Viper-X-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
14,390
Alright, I'll let it do a run and snag a SS, not sure I watched it during my R23 run the other day.

Looks like the current bios gave me a bit of a boost, 4.45Ghz all core using PBO with curve optimizer, however it seems sower now (9787 vs 10116) :) so who knows, going to play with the curve optimizer and bump up voltages a bit.

1619726681908.png
 

Digital Viper-X-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
14,390
OP, i'm roughly around the same VID as you, I think it's just normal for this cpu, I wouldn't worry about it. You can see in my pic, max VID was 1.494, and I have my curve optimizer on -5 on all cores :)
 

III_Slyflyer_III

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2019
Messages
420
Looks like the current bios gave me a bit of a boost, 4.45Ghz all core using PBO with curve optimizer, however it seems sower now (9787 vs 10116) :) so who knows, going to play with the curve optimizer and bump up voltages a bit.
Here is 5 minutes in to CineBench R23... gives the processor time to warm up as R20 is too quick... a little lower boosting than Prime95 full load, but still a full load, obviously a different type using different instruction sets.

Worth noting; I limit max current to 150A and max power to 200W. This keeps the processor generally cooler which translates to higher boosts for longer. Under gaming loads, this helps a ton, after a long 100% load run, I think it all evens out in the end once you hit steady state.

1619727351810.png
 

Digital Viper-X-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
14,390
Here is 5 minutes in to CineBench R23... gives the processor time to warm up as R20 is too quick... a little lower boosting than Prime95 full load, but still a full load, obviously a different type using different instruction sets.

Worth noting; I limit max current to 150A and max power to 200W. This keeps the processor generally cooler which translates to higher boosts for longer. Under gaming loads, this helps a ton, after a long 100% load run, I think it all evens out in the end once you hit steady state.

View attachment 351793
Can you run R20? Curious to see your scores. I got a higher score at lower all core speeds.
 

III_Slyflyer_III

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2019
Messages
420
Can you run R20? Curious to see your scores. I got a higher score at lower all core speeds.
Here you go... :) Single Core & Multi-Core. I've scored higher on Multi-Core before, but I lowered my power limit to get better single core boosts and found a perfect balance.

1619741854444.png
1619741882602.png
 
Top