help with setting up my network

ignitionxvi

Limp Gawd
Hey Guys,

I have a wireless network, and i'm very new to this stuff. I'll do my best to get as much information into this as i can, as i'm not really sure what you need to help me diagnose the situation.

I have this computer in my room, connected to a WRT54G router. My cable modem is connected to the router, and another computer is connected to the router via the wired connection. My problem is, that on the computer in my room (which is connected via the wireless connection) if i go to windows explorer > network connections i get this error

networkerror.JPG

I have windows firewall turned off on both computers, DHCP is enabled (i had static IP's before on both computers before but turned them off), and using VNC i can connect to the computer downstairs. I was hoping to be able to make a drive from my downstairs computer a network drive upstairs so i can share my music and movies. Both computers have XP w/ SP2.

I hope i put enough info in here, thanks for any help.

Turn off simple file sharing and try again.

go to where you enable/disable hidden files and uncheck the very last option.

That_Sound_Guy said:
Turn off simple file sharing and try again.

go to where you enable/disable hidden files and uncheck the very last option.
that worked for a little bit, but now its doing the same thing again. I don't understand why :( Thanks for the help tho.

ignitionxvi said:
that worked for a little bit, but now its doing the same thing again. I don't understand why :( Thanks for the help tho.
That sounds like you don't have a solid wireless connection. You might try changing the wireless channel WRT54G is operating on.

sp00 said:
That sounds like you don't have a solid wireless connection. You might try changing the wireless channel WRT54G is operating on.