Help with Leak

convexion

Gawd
:mad: Okay, I'm pissed. I leak tested my rig for over 24 hours and there was no apparent problem. I guess one of the hoses loosened just enough when I moved the case into my other room.

Anyway, I woke up this morning to notice my t-line was about 6 inches lower than it was the day before. Immediately turned off the computer (which was running fine btw) and brought it out to look at it. The leak was coping from the damn tygon tubing on my storm block. I immediately removed all the tubing and replaced it with 7/16 ID tubing but then noticed just how much liquid leaked out... Argh.

Long story short, the liquid poured onto my northbridge heatsink (680i mobo) and INTO my PCI-X port. It's pretty gunked up in there now. I've been using 99% alcohol to clean it up along with a hair dryer which has worked well for everything except the PCI-X port. Any tips on how to go about cleaning it?

All i can say is to keep doing what your doing, i'm not an expert on watercooling, but that is all i can say.

No, I use the cool setting on the hairdryer. But really alcohol doesn't burn long enough to ever cause problems anyway unless it's in large amounts.

Anyway, one of the things I forgot to mention is that it pretty much already has evaporated out but left behind my coolant which is now a dried syrupy kind of substance. It's swiftech HydrX, the first time I've ever used it.

yikes

this is why i only use 7/16ths and the boiling water method... plus i switched to pc-ice

good luck

Yeah, I knew I shouldn't have used that damn tygon. It's so flimsy in 1/2 ID size. Glad I bought the 7/16 Masterkleer anyway. Just wish I would have used it in the first place.

Did it leak from under the barb or from under the hose? I had a similar problem with my apogee, and it was because of barbs that wouldn't go down all the way the first few times. Eventually I gave up, threaded it with a ton of teflon tape and it went in fine.