Help with ASUS RX550 2G (driver problems)

Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
8
Hey guys, first off let me leave some specs:
ASUS Prime A320M-K
AMD Ryzen 3 1300x
ASUS RX550-2G (https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/RX550-2G/ )
LNZ SX-500-FC 500W
Kingston 8G DDR4 2400 MHz (Don't remember the exact model but it's one of those without any flashy logos/names and cooling things)
All components are 18 months old
Windows 10 Home version 1909
BIOS version/date: American Megatrends 3803 1/22/2018
SMBIOS version: 3.1
BIOS mode: UEFI


I want to start out by saying that ever since I've had this card, I've never been able to update the drivers, once, without having the problem I'm having currently, which I will explain in a bit. Also my GPU shows up as "Microsoft Basic Display Adapter" in device manager and also in GPU-Z, however, GPU-Z displays the correct specs (such as clock speed and whatnot) under the incorrect name and when I click "Lookup" it brings me to the correct page for my GPU (https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/radeon-rx-550.c2947 ), although it's not my exact model, but you can find it down there in the page.

This is what my screen looks like when I boot up with AMD drivers installed:




List of things I've tried:
updating the drivers with device manager, using the ones windows automatically finds
updating the drivers with Radeon-Software-Adrenalin-2020-20.1.3-MinimalSetup-200128_64bit
updating the drivers with Radeon-Software-Adrenalin-2020-20.1.4-MinimalSetup-200127_web
updating the drivers with Asus 18.10.16 WHQL
updating the drivers with the AMD Driver Auto-Detect Tool
updating the drivers with the drivers amd recommended to me when I selected my GPU on their website
Every option on the Windows 10 Recovery screen (restoration point - roll back - the rest), the one thing that makes my PC usable again is booting into safe mode, and I've tried rebooting out of safe mode with the faulty drivers installed but they still don't work.
Running AMD Driver Cleaning Utility before installing any of the aforementioned drivers
Installing drivers after running Display Driver Uninstaller
Booting into low res mode
formatting my PC and installing the drivers in a fresh windows 10

I remember that my card came with a CD which I think contained the GPU Tweak II program and maybe some drivers, but sadly I don't have the CD anymore.

I currently do not have access to another PC where I can install my GPU to try it and neither do I have another GPU I can use instead of the one I currently have.

Also, when I open up Photoshop CS6, it detects that there is something weird going on with my GPU. League runs at 2 FPS at max settings when it used to run at 120+ and some games like Dead by Daylight won't boot up because a message pops up telling me that DX11 is required to run it. My point is that other programs are aware of the driver change and it's not like I can just keep using my PC as if nothing happened.

It seems that no matter which version of the drivers I install, I always have the same problems:
During the driver installation process, the screen blacks out and never comes back, when I reboot my PC, after the ASUS logo screen where you can enter the bios, the screen displays a pixel glitch which covers up the entire screen.

I guess if I could just go back to the drivers the GPU comes loaded with, that would solve the problem, since I've been using those since July 2018 with no problems and great performance.

Oh also: After installing any drivers, when I reboot into safe mode my GPU shows as either Radeon 550 Series or Radeon RX550 depending which driver I install, even though the GPU name's is correct, League, for example, still runs extremely slow (20 FPS with the lowest settings). Also, my GPU never shows up on task manager even though it used to before all of this happened and it still shows us as Microsoft Basic Display Adapter when I run dxdiag.exe. And as I've previously said, if I were to reboot out of safe mode into "normal mode" I would still get the screen glitch, the only way to go into normal mode without any glitches is to roll back to drivers with device manager to "Microsoft Basic Display Adapter", however, that renders my GPU useless since it won't process anything.
 

rhansen5_99

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 12, 2001
Messages
2,118
I had a similar issue with a rx460. In my case I was trying to unlock more cores by flashing it to a 560 firmware, and it did not like the settings. I would check to see if still in warranty, and maybe get it replaced but if not you could try flashing a 550 bios on there.

If not that can you try the card in another pc to narrow down something in your config.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
22,001
that looks like dying vram. if you cant get anything onscreen its probably time to rma.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
8
I had a similar issue with a rx460. In my case I was trying to unlock more cores by flashing it to a 560 firmware, and it did not like the settings. I would check to see if still in warranty, and maybe get it replaced but if not you could try flashing a 550 bios on there.

If not that can you try the card in another pc to narrow down something in your config.
Yeah I'm talking to some guys who will guide me on how to flash a BIOS and which one I should.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
8
that looks like dying vram. if you cant get anything onscreen its probably time to rma.
Read my post, booting into safe mode with any drivers installed lets me use my PC and if I switch to the microsoft basic display adapter I can use it in "normal mode"
 

Araxie

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
6,441
Read my post, booting into safe mode with any drivers installed lets me use my PC and if I switch to the microsoft basic display adapter I can use it in "normal mode"
that's a typical behavior of a dying vRAM/Faulty vRAM solder, as pendragon1 said (Video RAM= GPU Memory).. that kind of behavior tend to be "fixed/Solved" after "baking" the GPU.. so the easier method if the card is still under warranty it's just to RMA it.

Booting into safe mode let you use your PC because the GPU driver aren't active at all..
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
22,001
what he said^^^. you cant get anything on screen in normal mode so you cant really do anything with it. you can try a hail-mary-bios-flash but the card is dying. rma it.
Read my post, booting into safe mode with any drivers installed lets me use my PC and if I switch to the microsoft basic display adapter I can use it in "normal mode"
i did.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
8
what he said^^^. you cant get anything on screen in normal mode so you cant really do anything with it. you can try a hail-mary-bios-flash but the card is dying. rma it.
i did.
Well I can get signal in normal mode, using the microsoft drivers, my cpu doesnt have a built in gpu so the gpu is still rendering stuff
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
22,001
Well I can get signal in normal mode, using the microsoft drivers, my cpu doesnt have a built in gpu so the gpu is still rendering stuff
thats limp mode and you still cant do anything with it and you clearly dont get the point. your card is dying, rma it.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
22,001
Ok then, the thing is that I can't since the warranty is gone and I live 10k KM away from the US lol
then replace it. the vram is failing and thats why when the drivers try to get it to the correct speed it goes all goofy. the drivers and therefor the ram speed are not loaded in safe mode or when using the ms generics.
replace it or bake it, look for the gpu necromancy thread.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
8
then replace it. the vram is failing and thats why when the drivers try to get it to the correct speed it goes all goofy. the drivers and therefor the ram speed are not loaded in safe mode or when using the ms generics.
replace it or bake it, look for the gpu necromancy thread.
Then how do you explain that this happened 1 month after buying it when I tried to update the drivers??
I highly doubt that if the card was fucked from the factory, that it wouldve kept working without any problems for 18 months, and this only happened when I tried to update it.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
8
coincidence?! how is the "warranty gone" if you just bought it?


???

youve done everything you can do except try another monitor, unless i missed it...
I bought it NEW from a reseller, so like I said the warranty is gone
I could try another monitor later, but I doubt it'll solve things
Once again, I dont think that the card is fucked, like I said, it did this 1 month after I started to use only when I tried to update it
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
22,001
so where is this "18 months working" coming from?! you have done EVERYTHING you can. so if another monitor doesnt make a difference, its the card. yes cards can just randomly fail.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
8
so where is this "18 months working" coming from?! you have done EVERYTHING you can. so if another monitor doesnt make a difference, its the card. yes cards can just randomly fail.
Dude ive told like 3 times, let me spell it out:
FOR 18 MONTHS THE CARD WORKED FINE, ABSOLUTELY NO PROBLEMS, NOW EVERY TIME I TRIED TO UPDATE THE DRIVERS, SHIT GOES WRONG, OTHERWISE:
THE
CARD
WORKED
GREAT
 

Vegas P11

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
1,296
When you boot Windows in Safe Mode it loads basic Windows drivers, so that is why you can use it. When you are booting normally it loads the AMD driver so that is why it is showing the corruption. The driver is trying to access the full amount of vram and causing the corruption.
If it is only 18 months old it might still be under warranty so you might try that route if the manufacturer uses the build date for warranty purposes.
 
Top