Help picking components for custom wooden cased SFF

Chefskinny

n00b
Hi there, Been years since I've been on Hardforums, can't even remember my old login. I'm a furniture designer / woodworker by trade and want to build a SMALL aesthetically pleasing wooden case for this SFF. I would like it to be very quiet, silent would be preferred.

I've been away from the computer world for a while, but think I do want a mini-itx for both size and power consumption.

Thanks in advance, I'll be sure to create a build thread showing the case as it comes together, looking forward to getting rolling on the case, but obviously will need to purchase the components first to build case to size of components.

1. What will you be doing with this PC?

---Web Browsing, music, very light gaming (sc2, bf3, diablo 3, LoL)

2. Will you be overclocking?

---Doesn't really matter to me.

3. What's your budget? Are tax and shipping included in this budget? Is your budget flexible? Is cost a driving factor in component selection?

---I would like to try and do this for $400 for the components, not including the case which I will be building.

4. Where do you live? Do you have any big B&M (brick and mortar) computer chains nearby (e.g. Microcenter, Fry's, etc)?

----Toronto, Canada. No huge computer chains really.

5. What exact parts do you need for that budget?

---Power supply (picosupply?), Motherboard, CPU, SSD HD, Ram, DVD Drive, Will I need a Video card? I don't need to run anything at full graphics.

6. If reusing any parts, what parts will you be reusing? Please be especially specific about the power supply. For reused parts, list brands, model #s, and, if applicable, firmware revisions.

---None

7. What specific features do you need in a motherboard? RAID? Firewire? Crossfire or SLI support? USB 3.0? SATA 6Gb/s? etc. Which is more important, size of the system or having the particular feature? Make sure you indicate *required* vs. *wanted* for each feature you list.