Help me understand incremental and differential backups

Peat Moss

Gawd
Tell me if I have this correct:

1. Incremental backup...is any changes at the file or folder level since the last incremental backup. A file is created on Monday and changed Tuesday and again Wednesday and again Thursday. When I save the file on Thursday, it will also save Wednesday's version, but not any version before then.

2. Differential backup....is any change at the file or folder level since the last full backup (is a full backup the same thing as a system/ disk image?). A full backup is created on Sunday. On Thursday, when I save the same file as above, it will save all the versions of the file back to Sunday when I made the full backup.

They're not all that different, though I'm not an expert, but had a stint where it was my responsibility to set up the back ups for a small org. IIRC, differential saves larger chunks (file/folder level) which leads to longer backup times and shorter restore times, and incremental saves actual data changes, so smaller chunks=quicker backups but longer to restore those smaller chunks to your last full backup. If you're looking for a backup solution it's all relative. For home use it's likely not too important which you choose. For enterprize it all depends on your use needs. I was a fan of Veeam's reverse incremental which created a full backup every time but left the incrementals behind it to backup to....so essentially your incrementals were the things that -didn't- change but your most recent back up on the system is a FULL backup that you can restore very quickly if necessary. If you had to restore further back it would essentially remove the changes to your current full backup instead of the forward incremental process of adding the changes to your most recent full backup. I'm sure someone else can give a much better description but since nobody responded yet I took a stab.