Help me setup mysql with c++

tpfaff

2[H]4U
I've searched the web, followed many tutorials, and I still can't get the damn thing set up correctly. I've never used an api before and I can't figure this out. Error after error after error. I'm installing ubuntu right now and maybe that will make things easier. Any good tips? Any easy solutions? Would someone be so kind as to hold my hand through setting this up? I've tried mysql++,sqlapi++ and one other.

You haven't given us much to go on here...

Is MySQL installed?
Is it running?
Is MySQL++ installed?
Is your client app compiling?
Is it linking?
Is it running?
Is it connecting?

I remember having trouble too but ended up getting it. What exactly is happening? I might be able to remember what I did.

You haven't given us much to go on here...

Is MySQL installed?
Is it running?
Is MySQL++ installed?
Is your client app compiling?
Is it linking?
Is it running?
Is it connecting?

MySQL is Installed and running via godaddy. (just read the mysql++ read me and it has to be installed on my machine as well) Which one should I pick from here? http://www.mysql.com/downloads/

MySQL++ is installed but probably incorrectly. Just redownloaded the tar...
app is not compiling
I dont know if its linking
No
No

mysql with c++?

Are you trying to build it? Are you trying to link against it? Are you trying to write a c++ app that interfaces with it? What kind of errors are you getting compiling whatever you're compiling?

Tell us everything dude. We're not mind readers.

I dont really know I guess, I'm very new to this. I'm trying to write a c++ app that can connect to and query a mysql database simply.

When compiling you need to put a bunch of stuff in the compile string. I usually just make a shell script for it as it can get quite long.

This should allow you to compile an app that uses mysql++.

Code:
g++ -o uogpoller uogpoller.cpp -g -w -lmysqlpp -L/usr/lib64/mysql -lmysqlclient -I/usr/local/include/mysql++/ -I/usr/include/mysql