help me pick a wireless router

SkyyNet

Limp Gawd
hello everyone

i am new to networking and need some help choosing a wireless router. i just moved and got high speed internet in my house. i have a pc, notebook and xbox 360. the pc will be hooked up directly to the router while the 360 and notebook will be wireless. the notebook is a centrino notebook and the 360 will be using microsoft's wireless adapter.

i will probably be uploading/downloading torrents from time to time and possibly streaming media from my notebook to my 360. i would assume that i would need atleast a 54g router. ive read a little bit about the new pre-n/mimo routers but like i said i am new to all of this.

i also read that microsoft recommends the linksys wrt55ag router but read on these forums that some people were having problems with that setup. with all of this being said which router would you recommend? ive read about being able to upgrade some router's firmware with better ones with more options but i dont think i will need that. i just need something with descent range and can handle the transfers of torrents and streaming media.

thanks in advance

I'm a big fan of the wrt54gl from linksys, but that could be because of the third-party firmward options available.

The current WRT54G and WRT54GS are cheapened versions of a trusty old line.

http://www.tomsnetworking.com/2006/06/08/linksys_wrt54g_v5_really_is_a_lousy_router/

You can load them with DD-WRT with some effort and risk to improve matters somewhat, but you're probably better off starting with some other wireless routers. DD-WRT themselves recommend some Buffalo products, as do some others (I've never used one though).

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/DD-WRT_Docu_(EN)

WRT54GL is a safe recommendation in this context, and you can up its transmit power with DD-WRT/etc.