Help me decide on new NAS build

• Thread starter Deleted member 80813
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 80813

I have been using Windows Home Server v1 (32bit) since 2009. My main drive just died, luckily I have everything backed up on a second drive.

This is just a personal NAS for myself and wife. We use it for storing and accessing documents like word, excel and such. I also use it to store all my photography in RAW format. The only other thing it is used for is music. I rip all my CDs to flac and stream to any of the PCs or the stereo. At the time of the crash I had about 900+GB of data on a 1TB drive.

What would my logical build be based on? I would like RAID 1 or better so everything is mirrored unlike how I had been doing it and manually backing up.

Should I go with WHS2011 even though it is discontinued? FreeNAS, even though it may be way more than I need? Something else I have not considered? I am building using my own parts. I have a machine based on an Intel Q6600 (quad core 2.4GHz) and 4 GB RAM.

Thanks for any input and information.

I am reading up on a dedicated NAS device now. Not liking what I see. A couple of things I dont care for is limited flexibility/future proof. What if I want to add more drives etc in the future? Also these units seem to pack the drives in with little to no ventilation. Heat kills. Last is price, starting at a few hundred to several hundred dollars and I still have to provide the drives? I already have all the hardware.

The biggest limitation in the dedicated NAS devices are the number of Drive slots. The biggest benefit is the abundance of software options that are either baked right in, or available at reasonable charges. You simply aren't going to get the same functionality out of a NAS you build yourself. That being said, assuming you are set on going to Roll-your-own route, I'd start with FreeNAS or another Windows 7/8 license and share from there. WHS is a dead product that was flaky to begin with.