Help going for CCNA

Ok school is taking too long and my job is cutting hours. I was a tech for about 2 years before I got my current job. Im going to school right now for Networking but they wont let me skip the how to use a keyboard class this semester. Im thinking of just grabbing some books and doing it on my own. Im sure I could accomplish taking the test by at least Jan. 2010.

What I need help in is what kind of materials/books would be the best for my situation?

What kind of simulators are there when working with routers I dont have?

Are there any other test I should study up and take also?

Todd Lammle's books and CBT Nugget videos are great.

If you must use sims, Boson Netsim is a popular one I hear, or you could also use Dynamips/Dynagen to simulate a lab.

However, I still recommend getting the real thing. 2621's and 2950's were what I used.

Take ICND1, then ICND2. Do not take the CCNA all as one test unless you preach Cisco.

Use the Cisco Press books and CBTNuggets if you can get them. For practice you can use PacketTracer or GNS3/Dynamips.

Another vote for Dynamips. Check the sticky at the top of this forum for details. Some amazing shit in there, man.

Personally, I'm a hardware whore, so I have the real things (picked up a 3660 for $5 at the Goodwill, NM's an all). Do I need them? Not really for the CCNA, but I plan on going for the CCNP and more in the future, so I'm getting them. For the CCNA, Dynamips will do fine.

I have the Sybex book (Lammele) and used Train Signal video (Chris Bryant, CCIE 9936 or something, he says it 1000x in the videos!). I'm taking the exam as soon as I finish my MCSA (2 weeks, baby!).

I also recommend the 2 exam route. :) Good luck, man! Let us know how it goes!