help find me a managed switch

StickyLoad

Limp Gawd
I need help finding a managed switch.

I've found an HP ProCurve Switch 2650 - switch - 48 ports. These any good. I also see dell has a PowerConnect 3448. I"ve got some unmanaged dell gigabit 24 port switches and have had zero problems with them.

I need 48 ports and would prefer to have it all on one switch, just from a cost stand point. I have no experience with these and am looking for some advice. Features I would use is mrtg, some QOS, and probably some service blocking.

I'm not afraid of command lines, but would prefer web based management.

If you don't mind older equiptment - get two 3Com SuperStack II 3300 XM's - they can be had for about $40 each on eBay. Add a matrix cable and you're set.

I have heard very good things about the Dell switches :D

I'm not looking for older equipment - I want to buy new as this is for an office environment.

Thanks for the reply though

AtomicFire said:
If you don't mind older equiptment - get two 3Com SuperStack II 3300 XM's - they can be had for about $40 each on eBay. Add a matrix cable and you're set.

I have heard very good things about the Dell switches :D

I dont' know as I'd reccomend those 3com switches. I had three of 'em and 2 have died. They aren't supported by 3com anymore so you gotta buy new which is rough on the budget.

I'm a big fan of the procurves.

I have had problems with the older GUI on that they used to use, but the new one seems to be much better.

The telnet interface is pretty nifty also.

I also like the pro-curves. I am currently looking at 80k worth of them to replace my existing network, if it gets approved.

I have a Nortel 350-24T you could have for $65+Shipping

It is unopened and still in the original box.

PM me if interested