Help extending wireless network in wired house

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Sprtfan, Dec 4, 2017 at 3:18 PM.

  1. Sprtfan

    Sprtfan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    308
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    I have a Netgear Nighthawk X4 AC2350 in the basement. The wireless signal is pretty weak when you get to the 2nd floor of the house. I do have Cat5e running to each room of the house. I set up an access point with another router but devices wouldn't switch to the stronger signal. Is there something different I could use that would let the devices roam to the stronger signal? I'd like to keep using the current router in the basement if possible. Thanks
     
  2. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,069
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    You need something that does mesh wireless network. If you want something affordable that works nice and easy, get 2 Ubiquiti UniFi APs and configure them through the UniFi controller. The reason roaming doesn't work on traditional routers even if you have the identical SSID and authentication mechanisms is because they are isolated dataplanes so they don't share the session states.
     
    Sprtfan likes this.
  3. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,175
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Sprtfan and Cmustang87 like this.
  4. Sprtfan

    Sprtfan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    308
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Thanks for the help, I was thinking about something like a Netgear Nighthawk Mesh X6S but the options listed here would be cheaper and better fit what I need.
     
  5. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,069
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Friends don't let friends buy Netgear :)

    The Ubiquiti is leaps and bounds better than any traditional "home wireless" you'd buy off the shelf.
     
  6. Prisicilla

    Prisicilla n00bie

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    You can use a WiFi Range Extender to boost the wireless signal
     
  7. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,069
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    No. Why in the world would the OP do this?
     
  8. Sprtfan

    Sprtfan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    308
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    I was looking at the UniFi AC In-Wall but there are some really good sales right now on the UAP-AC-LITE-US ($70) Will they both give comparable coverage? I assume that they can work together so I could get one of each? Also, just to make sure I'm understanding this correctly, if I purchased two, I'd want turn off the wifi on my router and I should be able to roam between the 2 UniFi devices. Thanks
     
  9. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,175
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Yes as along they are all from the same family. IE AC IN-Wall and AC-Lite. I have both(used to use a single AC-Lite at my old house) and it has a bit more coverage both they will 100% work together.
     
  10. SamirD

    SamirD Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    284
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    One of the things you can do with even your existing setup is to turn the transmission powers on both antennas down. This way, a device will move from one ap to the other.