Help a noob with wired/wireless home networking

Justshoe

Limp Gawd
Working on my parents house trying to setup a wire/wireless network and looking at what to get. We have about 8 wire drops throughout the house and want all to be live. But also want to have wireless access throughout 1-2 access points possibly. now im guessing that by best bet is probably a switch greater than 8 ports in the basement where all the drops are routed to. have comcast cable internet....will i be able to just run my cable modem straight into the switch and then plug to wireless access points into the switch to get wireless throughtout also? Last questions is there is a linksys 4port wireless router now, is it possible to use it in anyway to act as an access point and not have to buy another? Im fairly new to networking, i can setup a few computers on a single router or setup a wireless network easily just never did them both together and never used a switch before either. any help is apperciated

Cable Modem ----> Router ----> Switch ----> Computers

You cannot connect the cable modem directly to the switch - only one computer would get an IP (in most cases) and it would be a direct connection to the internet. In short it is unsafe and would not work.

Get a nice sixteen to twenty-four port switch to go in the basement. Connect one of the ports on the router's LAN section to the first port on the basement switch then connect the other drops to the remaining ports.

As for wireless access points - depending on the model you may be able to re-use the linksys you already have. Flash it with DD-WRT to get the most out of it. If you're looking to just purchase some - grab a couple Buffalo WHR-G54S or WHR-HP-G54 routers and put DD-WRT on them. They make nice inexpensive access point units.

now even w/o a static ip from comcast, will everything still work ok and just run dynamic ip's auto to all the other drops?