Hell of a time getting Nvidia drivers loaded under Fedora 28

DeaconFrost

[H]F Junkie
I'll post my system specs below, and I'll preface this by saying I'm no Linux expert. I'm attempting to set up a second tower to get more comfortable with Linux (even studying for my CompTIA Linux+ Exam). I'd rather use Ubuntu, but I'm hoping to stay with Fedora or CentOS since this is what's used for the test and what we use in my corporate environment.

That being said, no what set of steps or guides I try to follow, I end up with errors or booting to a blank, gray screen. I pulled the card and am using the onboard Intel graphics without an issue. I can always leave it this way, but then I'm missing out on figuring out what is wrong...and some Steam gaming.

My system specs are as follows:

Dell Optiplex 9010
Intel i7-3770
16 GB Corsair XMS
500 GB Samsung EVO 850

Thanks for any help or suggestions. Here's an example of a guide I've followed without any success. I did it with the GPU installed, though, so many that's my issue.
https://fedoramagazine.org/install-nvidia-gpu/

Have you tried disabling secure boot? Secure boot seems to be causing issues with Nvidia drivers lately.

If your using UEFI secure boot you will have to disable that.
Or you'll have to sign your kernel;
http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86_64/396.54/README/installdriver.html#modulesigning
I would say just disable UEFI .... as the nvidia driver is changing your kernel it needs to be signed. Having to sign it every time you change kernels is a bit annoying. Up to you more work but you can go either way.

Its also possible that you have to black list the open source driver nouveau. Red Hat doesn't bundle closed source stuff... so where other distros that do would take care of this step Fedora doesn't tend to do that.