Heatsink not working right?

RickyJ

Gawd
So I've been running this i3-540 at 200x19 for the last 5 months at an arbitrary 1.30Vcore, never paid much attention to the load temperatures. Decided to crank it up a bit today to 4.2GHz and was hitting 75°C load temperatures, but when I touched the heatsink it didn't feel any warmer than ambient (19-20°C). Using a Gelid Tranquillo heatsink and the fins, heatpipes, and base all felt close to ambient. Feeling behind the CPU socket through the access panel in my case, it's very warm to the touch but not burning, I'd put it at 40°C while RealTemp and CPUID Hardware Monitor are both reporting 75°C CPU temps.

4200MHzstable.jpg

Pulling the heatsink off to check contact, I'm not too impressed with what I find. I used the pea method way back when.

i3-contact.jpg

I cleaned everything up, put a pea sized amount of MX-3 in the center of the processor, and reinstalled the heatsink so the fan points up towards. Temperatures didn't change and the heatsink still doesn't get warm. Dropping back down to 3.8GHz didn't drop the temps at all.

Dropping to bone stock speeds and voltages, temperatures are still too high.

i3stock.jpg

Looking again at reviews of this heatsink, this shows that it can handle an i5-750 at 3.8GHz and 1.3V at average 53°C. Other reviews pitting it against an i7-920 also show it doing quite well as well. Definitely should be running cooler than a quad core, even if their testing conditions are different.

TechPowerUp got to 4.57GHz at 1.344V with 65°C load temps using a Scythe Katana 3.

I'll check heatsink contact again in the morning to see if I missed something. I was going to install the stock Intel heatsink to see if it works any better too.

Any other ideas?