headphone quality

Saki630

Limp Gawd
I have been using HD595's for about 7+ years. This last pair has both plastic joints above the ear broken, so I have to tape them. The last pair had the same issue.

I bought my nephew HD598's, and they look flimsy like the 595's. I've been waiting to purchase the HD650s, but now want to explore other options because the design is identical.

What other brand/model should I look into that will not have crappy joint above the ear?

I use them for gaming and enjoy the open ear style.

Sennheiser uses plastic across their entire lineup for the sliders. Plastic doesnt bend much. If you insist on bending the slider and need something more sturdy, the Focal Elear uses metal sliders (the Utopia uses carbon fiber). Hifiman also uses metal yokes for Edition X v2 (although the band that sits on your head is leather, just like the HE1000). Beyerdynamic also uses metal for the T1 and some of their lower headphone lines.

As far as something in the 650's price range, the Audio Technica R70X is tonally comparable and should have a much more sturdy (and comfortable!) headband design.

Last edited:
Thanks for the reply. I know nothing about other headphone manufacturers so I did not know where to begin looking for an alternative. Those Audio Technica's i swear are always on massdrop so i'll take a look.

I just want headphones that wont flex and crack on the sliders. The over ear + open combo is great on the Sennheiser's, but the longevity is not great on the material.

I have similar cracking issues with my HD555 (my gateway drug, lol), which is from the same generation/family and design as your HD595.