HDCP headaches

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs & Equipment' started by farscapesg1, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. farscapesg1

    farscapesg1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,480
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Ugg.. our TV setup is quickly driving me nuts (specifically having to listen to family members bitch about it).

    We don't have a difficult media setup. Basically, before Christmas we just used a Roku connected to a Yamaha soundbar and then the TV, with a Wii U on the second TV input. Of course, a remote for the TV, a remote for the Roku, and a remote for the soundbar and everyone kept misplacing them and then complaining because they couldn't find them. So when the Caavo device went on sale I thought great, simple solution (I don't mind a $2/month subscription for voice, which the Alexa integration gets used on a daily basis) to the problem of multiple remotes and having to switch TV inputs when the kids want to play the Wii U.

    Unfortunately the Roku Ultra, Caavo, soundbar, and TV aren't playing nice and at least a couple times a day trying to watch anything results in a black HDCP 2.2 error, even though the Roku is set to 1080P (no 4K tv yet). Once it throws the error, the only solution is to kill the power to all the devices (not just turn them off) and then power them back on.

    Roku, Caavo, and Yamaha all say it's the HDMI cables, but I've tried swapping and replacing every combination I can think of. I've got Samsung branded high-speed HDMI cables, Monoprice ones, Amazon Basics, etc. It doesn't help that after powering back on, everything works for a random amount of time/number of shows before it throws the error again.

    Running just the Roku through the Caavo to the TV works. Running just the Roku through the soundbar to the TV works. Running the Roku directly to the TV works. Intermittent issues only arise when combining all three.

    Any advice on how best to troubleshoot this, ideal HDMI cables to pick up, anything? I'm usually pretty logical but this has me beating my head on the wall.
     
  2. Brian_B

    Brian_B [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,898
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Any chance you could run the soundbar with TOSLINK Sound Out? Or just run the sound bar via HDMI ARC output (if your TV supports it), rather than routing video through it?

    Since Roku->Caavo->TV works, but Roku->Caavo->SoundBar->TV does not

    Sounds like just one too many hops
     
  3. farscapesg1

    farscapesg1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,480
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Unfortunately, no HDMI ARC as the TV is about the most basic 65" Samsung ever made. It also doesn't have an optical out to feed the soundbar (Yamaha ATS-1070).
     
  4. Brian_B

    Brian_B [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,898
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Does it have an analog sound out?
     
  5. farscapesg1

    farscapesg1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,480
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Yeah, it has left/right audio outputs I guess I could try.

    I'm not sure the Samsung UN65FH6001F model of TV will output the audio from a HDMI source through the analog outputs. I think I remember trying with an XBOX for some late night gaming on headphones and could never get any sound.
     
  6. Dullard

    Dullard [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,785
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    I had HDCP nightmares at my place. The thing that's worked like a charm for me is a simple HDMI splitter. You don't really split, just in and out - but it bypasses the HDCP handshake. I have a HDMI over CAT6 system that wouldn't work without a HDCP stripper, multiple TVs connected to a bunch of devices, HDCP was killing me.

    https://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Power...=ViewHD+2+Port+1x2+Powered+HDMI+Mini+Splitter

    Read the reviews, many mention the HDCP stripping properties as a major feature.