HD TV Questions

Yz388

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
197
Not sure if this belongs here, but I did make my way over to the av forums, and did not know where to begin.

Anyways, I am simply just looking for some advice/input on what I plan on purchasing soon. I plan on buying a Samsung 46 inch tv, 1080p. I see there are about 3-4 models of what I want, and after some research, figured out that two of these 4 models are differenent because 1 of them has a glossy screen to help replicate that of a plasma. I plan on going for that one (200 bucks more)

A question I do have is, whats the difference with the built in tv things? cards or tuners? I see the price is higher on the models with the internal tv thing.

I am on optimum right now, and plan on upgrading to the high def digital cable box. Also, heres another one. I am not currently using digital cable, so when I do upgrade, will some of my channels be in HD, or will i have a whole new selection of channels? How would the new digital cable plug into my tv? How long does it take to have this setup, say if i wanted to upgrade today?

As for as dvd playing, I plan on using my up converter dvd player with a hdmi cable for now until bluray drops eventually.

Suggestions? Advice?
 

daveswantek

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
1,231
Not sure if this belongs here, but I did make my way over to the av forums, and did not know where to begin.

Anyways, I am simply just looking for some advice/input on what I plan on purchasing soon. I plan on buying a Samsung 46 inch tv, 1080p. I see there are about 3-4 models of what I want, and after some research, figured out that two of these 4 models are differenent because 1 of them has a glossy screen to help replicate that of a plasma. I plan on going for that one (200 bucks more)

A question I do have is, whats the difference with the built in tv things? cards or tuners? I see the price is higher on the models with the internal tv thing.

I am on optimum right now, and plan on upgrading to the high def digital cable box. Also, heres another one. I am not currently using digital cable, so when I do upgrade, will some of my channels be in HD, or will i have a whole new selection of channels? How would the new digital cable plug into my tv? How long does it take to have this setup, say if i wanted to upgrade today?

As for as dvd playing, I plan on using my up converter dvd player with a hdmi cable for now until bluray drops eventually.

Suggestions? Advice?

OK; The Samsung HD LCD TV you are talking about is either the LN-T4661 or the LN-T4671. The difference between them is that the 71 has the 120Hz refresh rate which allows it to display 1080p24 which is the top of the line in HD. Most movies are recorded in 1080p24. It differes from 1080p because of something known as pull-down. Pull-down is a process that repeats frams as needed for a given refresh rate. 1080p24p can be displayed with 5 to 5 pulldown, because 5 x 24 = 120Hz. So only 120Hz screens can do 1080p24.
The 61 series is limited to 180i.

Now the question becomes how much does this matter. Well all broadcast TV is compressed to conserve bandwidth, so the best you can get from satilite or cable is 1080i. The i stands for interlaced and is deinterlaced to 60Hz. In short 120Hz is only necessary for Bluray players, but their is a catch. Samsung implamented frame interpulation on the 71 series sets. It is a feature known as AMP or Auto Motion Processing. It can be used to improve 60Hz signals by adding an interpulated frame between each frame comming from the input signal. This is entended to reduce motion blur, but it can and does create problems on some feeds. AVS has a very long thread on this at: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=893827. This thread makes it sound worse than it really is, because you can turn it off and still have a great LCD TV. When AMP works right, (usually on animated films) it looks fantastic, like a CRT.

Samsung also makes an 81 series that has an LED backlight and adds black frames rather than doing interpolation. It has a higher contrast ratio, (and price) but it tens to look darker like a Plasma.

Last but not least. Smasung has announced new versions of both the 60 and 70 series with pannels that have 1/2 the pixel response time and other new features. They are due out within the next two months. So I want to see what they look like before I drop a bunch of money on a new TV. Check it out here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=971103

If you have any interest in plasmas you should checkout the Pioneer Kuro: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=858455

It is highly debatable as to which is better between LCD and Plasma. They both have strengths and weeknesses.

One last thing when you decide to buy. Make sure it is from someone like Amazone that has a good return policy, because you may need to return the set due manufacturing defects. The do not make them like they use to.

Best of luck

Dave

OOPS!

You want the built in tunner, even if you do not use it. Tuning is usually handled by your cable or satilite box, but you never know how things change.

You need to upgrade your cable or Satilite to HD before or when you get your set so you can test it properly. If you already have a cable or satilite package it costs about $10 a month to upgrade to HD. See their website for more.

/OOPS
 

Yz388

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
197
Thanks for that great response. You have cleared alot up for me. Here is the screen that I am looking at, have been looking at for a while now because I want to make sure I make the right decision.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...02008+1389027317&Description=samsung&name=46"


And this is the tv that I sort of decided on (The 4665F)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16889102135

How do you feel about that? Its in my price range, its 1080p, im not sure if its the true hd like you mentioned, but it has the tuner it says. It also is the model that has the glossy screen which I want.

Thanks again for your detailed response.
 

daveswantek

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
1,231
Thanks for that great response. You have cleared alot up for me. Here is the screen that I am looking at, have been looking at for a while now because I want to make sure I make the right decision.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...02008+1389027317&Description=samsung&name=46"


And this is the tv that I sort of decided on (The 4665F)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16889102135

How do you feel about that? Its in my price range, its 1080p, im not sure if its the true hd like you mentioned, but it has the tuner it says. It also is the model that has the glossy screen which I want.

Thanks again for your detailed response.

Yah; that is a good buy, but I would go through Amazone.com, because they have a better return policy. If you are in SoCal, (like me) then you will not have to pay tax at Amazone. New Egg charges tax and has a no returns policy on LCDs. I buy a lot of stuff from them, but not LCDs. Amazon has the same price and free shipping. The folks over at the AVS forums are happy with them. By the Way they call Amazone "Big River" over their, because of the forum rules.

The LN-T4665 is a really good buy right now because of the price, (well under 2k) and it is a very mature TV. It had issues when it first came out, but they have been ironed out sense. It is the first LCD TV that cought my eye at the local BestBuy. When I saw it; I thought to my self that it is the first LCD I have ever seen that actually looks as good or better than my 36" CRT. The 71 series looks slighty better, but it still has issues and costs a lot more.

Make sure you go to either BestBuy or Circuit City and look at the display model. If and when you buy it go to the calibration thread on AVS. That will help you get the most out of it.

Best of luck

Dave
 

Yz388

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
197
Thanks alot dave for that informative post. I will look into the amazon option, I thought the price was higher there thats why I was looking at newegg. I have also heard that tv has had its issues fixed by samsung. I am super pumped to buy it, just a little nervous how this whole hd issue will sort itself out.


This is completly off topic, but might as well see if you guys know. Can I use my one cable coming out of the wall, use a splitter, have 1 end go to my tv, and 1 go to my cable modem? (Granted the modem is getting enough power)

That leads me into my next question....When I do upgrade to digital cable (thats what it is right) Opt. Online will provide me with a digital cable box I assume. So where does that 1 box go, does it have to go to my tv? Or do I not need it since I have the built in one on the tv? This is where I start to get confused. My other tvs arent hd, but I guess they will be going on the new digital cable as well?
 

Dogmapog

Gawd
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
546
I'm trying to figure out why anyone would buy a 46inch LCD over a 50inch Plasma{Panasonic/Samsung}?
Plasma has better "lights off performance", and will be better with SDTV and DVD....both LCD and Plas will look excellent with HDTV/Bluray though.
 

Dogmapog

Gawd
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
546
That leads me into my next question....When I do upgrade to digital cable (thats what it is right) Opt. Online will provide me with a digital cable box I assume. So where does that 1 box go, does it have to go to my tv? Or do I not need it since I have the built in one on the tv? This is where I start to get confused. My other tvs arent hd, but I guess they will be going on the new digital cable as well?

SDTV is an improvement over analogue, but nowhere near the quality of HDTV.
If you upgrade to SDTV, your box will output in S-video or component, you them connect that cable to the s-video input on your HDTV.

DON'T USE COMPOSITE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE.

If you're just going to watch SDTV, DVD and HDTV later on, I suggest you get a 50in 1366x 768 plasma{unless your viewing area is heavily lit}
 

Yz388

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
197
When I get the digital cable, I thought that is HD. I thought that includes many HD channels, including the HD version of ESPN, Discovery, etc.


I plan on sticking with LCD, I have dont alot of research, and for what I will be using it for, I plan on sticking with lcd.
 

daveswantek

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
1,231
This is completly off topic, but might as well see if you guys know. Can I use my one cable coming out of the wall, use a splitter, have 1 end go to my tv, and 1 go to my cable modem? (Granted the modem is getting enough power)

Yes; just make sure to get a good splitter. RCA or a brand you recignize. It should cost about $15.00 Do not go for the high dollor, or super cheap ones they are a waste of time or money. when you connect the cables, make sure they are threaded correctly and nice and tight. This can effect your signal quality.

That leads me into my next question....When I do upgrade to digital cable (thats what it is right) Opt. Online will provide me with a digital cable box I assume. So where does that 1 box go, does it have to go to my tv? Or do I not need it since I have the built in one on the tv? This is where I start to get confused. My other tvs arent hd, but I guess they will be going on the new digital cable as well?


It works like this: It sounds like the cable you have now is a cable modem, which usually carries analog TV as well. It is actual digital and analog, but the TV will not see anything but analog unless you get the reciever from the cable company. There is more than one kind of reciever. The one they send/install for you will depend on what service you sign up for. If you order digital TV you will get a digital reciever that outputs Super VHS TV. That is not HD, it is better than SD or standard definition TV, but not nearly as good HD. The next step up is HD programming which is digital but in a differnet format. Wider aspect ratio and more resolution. This usually costs $10 to $15 bucks a months more. When you go for HD, you have two choices in reciever boxes. The first is just a HD tunner which lets you watch the channel package you selected in HD. The second is an HD DVR or digital video recorder. It costs more money per month and lets you record and play back HD content.

The key point here is that it is really all about the reciever box and the package you select from your cable company. If you have a cable modem, then you already have digital cable talking to your computer. It is the reciever box that allows your TV to recieve HD content. Digital cable can be either HD or SVHS, depending on the cable box they give you.

When selecting a channel package, read the fine print to find out what the real cost per month is. They do not like to tell you that and it is the price you end up with after some introductory period. You should be able to check it out on their web site.

Last but not least. You are making a good decision with the TV you have selected. Plasma is great in a blacked out room, but they look pretty dim in a well lit room. I was going to buy a Panasonic Pro Plasma screen until I saw my neighbors. I went to BestBuy where I found the Samsung LN-T4665 and it changed my mind completely.

Do what you have been doing. Take your time and make a good decision. I think your next step is to check out your cable providers web site to get more info on their packages.

Best of luck

Dave
 

Yz388

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
197
thanks so much dave. You cleared up alot for me. I did talk my cable company and they are coming soon to setup my digital cable box. I plan on getting the hd package, but not the one that allows me to record.

Now here is the story with the cable modem. When we first signed up for it, we put it downstairs, but it was split so the modem was not getting enough "juice". They ran a new wire into my downstairs just for my modem. But now I want to move it upstairs, so do you still think a good splitter will do the job, or should I pay them 40 dollars to run a separate line for the modem, and then I can use the other just for the tv.

Now I would simply run an ethernet upstairs, but I would have no idea how to get it past the walls, so I figured this would be the easiest way.

Cant wait to get everything all setup.

Thanks again.
 

daveswantek

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
1,231
thanks so much dave. You cleared up alot for me. I did talk my cable company and they are coming soon to setup my digital cable box. I plan on getting the hd package, but not the one that allows me to record.

Now here is the story with the cable modem. When we first signed up for it, we put it downstairs, but it was split so the modem was not getting enough "juice". They ran a new wire into my downstairs just for my modem. But now I want to move it upstairs, so do you still think a good splitter will do the job, or should I pay them 40 dollars to run a separate line for the modem, and then I can use the other just for the tv.

Now I would simply run an ethernet upstairs, but I would have no idea how to get it past the walls, so I figured this would be the easiest way.

Cant wait to get everything all setup.

Thanks again.

For $40.00, I would let the cable company do it. They will have to come out to install the HD setup anyway and if anything does not work, they have to fix it to your satisfaction.

You will want to do ethernet eventually, but like you say; it is a pain in a 2 story place. Your other option is wireless, but I have found it usually does not cover the entire house. Especially a second story.

Let us know how it works out.

Dave
 

Yz388

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
197
ok, so my sister bought the tv I wanted for her new place and its amazing. Butttt now I have so much questions so get ready.

Her IO digital cable box (same one I will be getting very soon) was setup using component cables? I think. There were about 6 different colored ones. I noticed an hdmi port on the back of the box, so I set it up that way. Does this help the quality of the high def channels? Why dident the io guys ask if she wanted it setup with an hdmi cable instead? 1 cable instead of 4 or 5?

Next question, now that I realize a 46 inch tv is too big for my room, as it would hurt me eyes being so close to my bed, I plan on getting a 40 inch.

Is it worth getting the 40inch in 1080. I have always heard the smaller the size, the less noticeable. If it is worth it, I plan on getting the 40inch samsung, glossy screen, 1080p.
 

Frito

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
254
HDMI will offer slightly better image quailty over Component Video basscicaly its the same thing as VGA vs DVI, component video is analog RGB signal more or less it is capable of at least 1080i output not sure if any device that does 1080p can output it via component but it should not be a problem.

HDMI is an updated version of the DVI interface, it also carries a digital audio signal as well as the video signal. its the new standard hook up for HDTV's and all high def dvd players use it as well as upconverting dvd players. they are pushing this standard on everyone because of HDCP (high definition copy(or content) protection) , it realy doesnt have much to do with HDMI being better for us, the end user. its about HDMI being good for the big film companies

i don't own a 1080p tv to compare at home aginst my older 1080i 46" phillips tv (non HDCP or HDMI tv its a CRT Rear projection pain to keep the tubes aligned right but it realy does have a great picture imo)

480p (SDTV) vs 1080i is as others have said is big difference in image quality. most HD content is 720p or 1080i, i think blu ray etc. is the only thing your gonna find that is 1080p as of yet. all broadcast and console games are 1080i or lower res
 

Yz388

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
197
So does that mean my 1080i tv channels with look not as good on a 720p tv?

What will my dvd upconverter be outing using the hdmi cable? Would that look better on the 1080?
 

daveswantek

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
1,231
So does that mean my 1080i tv channels with look not as good on a 720p tv?

No; it is the other way arround. 1080i will look the best for broadcast TV, because that is what they transmit. 1080p will look best with movies comming from a Blue-Ray player.

720p is for smaller HD sets, (28" - 37") that do not need the extra resolution.

What will my dvd upconverter be outing using the hdmi cable? Would that look better on the 1080?

Your upconverting DVD player will look quite good at 1080i. Not as good as Blue-Ray, but much better then standard Definition. Standard DVDs were recorded in a resolution that is better then Super VHS, but not as good as HD.

HDMI is the way to go; make sure you get a good HDMI 1.3 compatible cable.
Monoprice.com has good cables at a good price. The high dollar Monster cables are a wast of mony.

You are really closing in on it now

Best of luck

Dave
 

daveswantek

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
1,231
Next question, now that I realize a 46 inch tv is too big for my room, as it would hurt me eyes being so close to my bed, I plan on getting a 40 inch.

Is it worth getting the 40inch in 1080. I have always heard the smaller the size, the less noticeable. If it is worth it, I plan on getting the 40inch samsung, glossy screen, 1080p.

You have it pretty well figured out. Size depends on viewing distance. You can calculate it here: http://myhometheater.homestead.com/viewingdistancecalculator.html

It is great that your sister has the 46, because that allows you to really see it in a home environment.

You can kind of tell that 40 inch is the breaking point for 720p. Most 40 inchers support 1080 where as only a few TV under that size go above 720p.

In short you will be fine with a 40 inch and 1080i/p resolution. There are a lot of people over at the AVS forums that are happy with this combination.

Best of luck

Dave
 

Yz388

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
197
In short you will be fine with a 40 inch and 1080i/p resolution. There are a lot of people over at the AVS forums that are happy with this combination.

Best of luck

Dave

So is it safe to assume you guys agree on the fact that it is worth going sticking with 1080p for the 40inch. I do not have a bluray player, and probably do not plan on getting one anytime soon unless the price drops considerably. Hopefully tonight I will be able to finally order this sucker up.
 

daveswantek

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
1,231
So is it safe to assume you guys agree on the fact that it is worth going sticking with 1080p for the 40inch. I do not have a bluray player, and probably do not plan on getting one anytime soon unless the price drops considerably. Hopefully tonight I will be able to finally order this sucker up.

Yah; I think you have a good plan. I would go with 1080p at the 40 inch size. More resolution is a good thing and you can do either 1080 or 720 on the set you are looking at.

You could go to Bestbuy and the like, to get a demo if your still not sure. I would much rather have 1080p then not. Most 40 inchers have it, so the choice is kinda obvious.

Let us know how it works out for you.

Dave
 
Top