Has wireless mouse technology improved over the years?

a123456

Limp Gawd
I've had limited wireless mouse experience. One was about 9 years ago with some ergonomic Logitech optical mouse. It was fine except the power saving feature on it was annoying. Whenever you stopped moving the mouse for a little bit, it would sleep. Then, when you moved the mouse again, it would take like .5s-1s to wake up so in that wake up time the mouse cursor wouldn't move even though the mouse moved.

Fast forward a few years. Second experience was with some MS optical mouse. The waking up part wasn't that big a deal anymore but I noticed that the red light was pretty much on all the time so the battery drained really quickly and it got old having to replace the battery all the time.

I'm looking to get a new wireless mouse for a work laptop if wireless technology has gotten better. Specifically, very limited "input lag" on the wake up and hopefully longer battery life. I went to the nearby Best Buy and tried all the mice there. I liked the feel of the Performance MX so was thinking about getting this. I didn't really like the smaller laptop-like mice like the Anywhere mouse and I'm okay with carrying around a larger mouse. It's for work so I don't need 10000dpi awesome gaming but something that feels comfortable for long periods.

At home, I've used the Intellimouse Explorer, which was fine until it died. Switched to G5, which is fine except that the mouse makes random semi-annoying clicking noises when I'm not clicking (RMA'd one and new one makes same noises after a month so I figure it's a property of the laser or the mouse) and the middle button is really tough to press.

So any suggestions?