Has anyone set up Sia storage?

RevMen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 22, 2004
Messages
460
It doesn't really make any money now, but apparently the network gives preference to hosts who have been up longer, so I'm thinking of setting up a box now in the hopes the service will catch on.

Has anybody done this?
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,789
I started dual mining with Ethereum and Siacoin. Had it running for about a day and I have 130 SIA so around $2.

I never heard of the storage aspect, but that does sound interesting. With Siacoin so low right now, at 1.5 cents, even if it went to $1 that would be a monster gain.
 

Nexillus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
1,116
I personally think Siacoin has a lot of room to grow and the storage idea that is integrated into it is a fantastic idea! (along with being much cheaper then any other storage options currently out there) I will have close 1,000 Sia just from Dual mining it with Eth, same as cyberreality.
 

RevMen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 22, 2004
Messages
460
The storage is the whole point of Sia. Think decentralized Dropbox, except more of a competitor to Amazon and not so much Dropbox directly.

The tech has a ways to go before it'll find more acceptance but the dev team is funded, full time, and does seem to know what they're doing.
 

nvgrim

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
1,747
I started dual mining with Ethereum and Siacoin. Had it running for about a day and I have 130 SIA so around $2.

I never heard of the storage aspect, but that does sound interesting. With Siacoin so low right now, at 1.5 cents, even if it went to $1 that would be a monster gain.
Is it a gpu only coin? Also what makes you think it will hit $1? It already has a $400,000,000 market cap with a 27,300,220,974 current supply. it would have to be a $27bn market cap to be at $1, so basically another etherum. You think thats possible? Not trying to dog you, but a lot of people get into the cheap cryptos and think they will hit $1 one day because its so cheap right now.
 

RevMen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 22, 2004
Messages
460
Right now it's GPU. The dev recently announced that they have an ASIC in development that they're taking pre-orders for. I think it may have gone live today, actually.
 
Top