Guys, why does my ethernet disconnect while gaming?

GOD'SlittleSERVANT

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
7,188
My ethernet disconnects while gaming. It has happens in both Fallout 76 and Warzone, constantly.

I switch over to my wifi and it doesn't disconnect, but it's laggy as hell in game. So, it seems to be a bandwidth issue? Never disconnects while browsing. I found something online called "net balancer" that causes this issue but I don't have anything like this on my machine.

What I've done
- Updated network drivers
- Disabled Energy Efficient Ethernet
- Had my modem/router replaced by my ISP
- Uninstalled a virus I found called online-guardian.exe

ISP is Centurylink 500mb down.

Thanks all.
 

jmilcher

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
4,927
Have you tried... a new Ethernet cable?

you may also have a failing NIC. It happens. Especially under load when it’s hot.
 

GOD'SlittleSERVANT

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
7,188
What is your make and model of your router?

CENTURYLINK Greenwave C4000XG​


Oh and hardware firmware up to date.
when you say it 'disconnects' what do you mean by that
NIC still blinks but the little world symbol shows up after it disconnects, then it automatically reconnects. And when I stay in game, it'll try to reconnect a few times but eventually fail.
Have you tried... a new Ethernet cable?

you may also have a failing NIC. It happens. Especially under load when it’s hot.
Yes, sorry failed to mention I swapped cables.

And I was thinking my mobo too but NIC lights blink still or does that even matter?
 

criccio

Fully Equipped
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
13,708
I think Event Viewer would be pretty telling in this scenario.
 

criccio

Fully Equipped
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
13,708
To clarify, Event Viewer > Windows Logs > System

You'll have a log entry for what caused the network disruption, just keep the timing in mind so you can look at the timestamps.
 

GOD'SlittleSERVANT

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
7,188
To clarify, Event Viewer > Windows Logs > System

You'll have a log entry for what caused the network disruption, just keep the timing in mind so you can look at the timestamps.
I guess I could have thought of that.

"The network interface "Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (7) I219-V" has begun resetting. There will be a momentary disruption in network connectivity while the hardware resets. Reason: The network driver requested that it be reset. This network interface has reset 2 time(s) since it was last initialized."

"Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (7) I219-V
Network link has been established at 1Gbps full duplex."

I'll do some research.
 

jmilcher

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
4,927
I think you may have a failing onboard NIC. Yes they are generally reliable but sometimes they do have issues. If you’d really like to know, throw a $10 NIC in, and see if it’s stable. If so, problem solved.
 

criccio

Fully Equipped
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
13,708
I guess I could have thought of that.

"The network interface "Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (7) I219-V" has begun resetting. There will be a momentary disruption in network connectivity while the hardware resets. Reason: The network driver requested that it be reset. This network interface has reset 2 time(s) since it was last initialized."

"Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (7) I219-V
Network link has been established at 1Gbps full duplex."

I'll do some research.
I would absolutely check your motherboards driver download page and see if there is an updated driver.
 

jmilcher

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
4,927
Not only that but roll it back to an older driver if it is updated. Sometimes a driver update breaks things that weren't broken.
I would only suggest this if the issue occurred right after a driver update. If not, I wouldn’t roll back.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
26,322
Not only that but roll it back to an older driver if it is updated. Sometimes a driver update breaks things that weren't broken.
op, if device manager has the option to roll back like above^^^ do it. i had a system two weeks ago, the network stopped working after windows update installed their driver version. a quick roll back and it was good to go.
 

GOD'SlittleSERVANT

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
7,188
I think you may have a failing onboard NIC. Yes they are generally reliable but sometimes they do have issues. If you’d really like to know, throw a $10 NIC in, and see if it’s stable. If so, problem solved.
I think you're right. I'm going to try this out.
 

ThreeDee

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
11,151
For drivers ..make sure you are going to Intel.com and not motherboard manufacturer's site ..

If you NIC is actually dying, is your mobo still under warranty?
 

GOD'SlittleSERVANT

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
7,188
For drivers ..make sure you are going to Intel.com and not motherboard manufacturer's site ..

If you NIC is actually dying, is your mobo still under warranty?
I don't think so, it's decently old.

I've had 0 time this week to do some testing. Once I do, I'll report back.
 

GOD'SlittleSERVANT

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
7,188
I think downloading the drivers from the actual microsoft page rather than the mobo manufacturer's site might have fixed the issue.

True test is tonight. I'll be gaming while my son will be playing roblox. If I get any disconnects, I'll install my nic card.

Edit - Disconnected last night while I was playing Warzone and my son was playing Roblox. Just installed the Nic. About to test.
 
Last edited:

GOD'SlittleSERVANT

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
7,188
New nic card installed. Got disconnected halfway through a game BUT it reconnected and I was able to finish. Normally, it disconnects long enough for the battle.net disconnection error but none the less, it still disconnected.

I typically don't disconnect when I'm playing by myself but when both me and my son are online gaming, it does.

Now what? Ha. Could a setting on my router be causing this?
 

ThreeDee

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
11,151
New nic card installed. Got disconnected halfway through a game BUT it reconnected and I was able to finish. Normally, it disconnects long enough for the battle.net disconnection error but none the less, it still disconnected.

I typically don't disconnect when I'm playing by myself but when both me and my son are online gaming, it does.

Now what? Ha. Could a setting on my router be causing this?
..could be just the router and not so much a setting .. did you check for firmware update for your router? .. if so, maybe reset your router to defaults and go from there .. and maybe your router is just on it last legs too and won't matter what you do.

..maybe a flaky port on the router

Does your son lose connection too?
 

GOD'SlittleSERVANT

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
7,188
..could be just the router and not so much a setting .. did you check for firmware update for your router? .. if so, maybe reset your router to defaults and go from there .. and maybe your router is just on it last legs too and won't matter what you do.

..maybe a flaky port on the router

Does your son lose connection too?
I had my modem/router replaced when this all started happening. It's a brand new unit.

I don't think he does, or else he'd be telling me.

My brother is going to let me borrow his gaming laptop. If I don't get any disconnects on that, then at least I know it's something to do with my PC.
 

Shikami

Gawd
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
790
Your issue(s) may lie in the fact of how the router is programmed to handle NAT, UPnP, and outbound NAT static port mapping. This can be exhibited a lot with multiple hosts behind 1 public IP. In other words, you get disconnected, or even your child, brother, etc due to the fact that the mapping table is limited, or NAT is limited with working the punched-holes. Since it is limited in its ability, it will drop one of you to handle "new" incoming packets. Its memory (1GB) and the fact that most likely the NAT table is properly configured for thousands of mappings for modern times and will not disconnect due to low table count, but hey SOHO and provided routers suck period when it comes to most NAT.

To alleviate, most will static the DHCP addresses for gaming hosts (very important actually), enable UPnP (security is particular here), and hope that the NAT will be mapped well enough for multiple hosts and same port incrementing instead of dropping the connection to remap the NAT to concurrent hosts. It is a pain when this cannot be handle, and most networking OTS gear is not really good for this. This is a similar read up and instructions for using pfSense and multiple hosts behind NAT for gameplay and such, and perhaps it can give you some insight:

https://digiex.net/threads/pfsense-...xbox-ones-open-nat-play-together-2-3-x.15094/



Edit: A quick note here. Ingress, basically, only needs one port. Many of the ports listed are for egress. Do not go and open a-many-a ports for no reason. Usually that one port that is used can be the issue with IPv4 and NAT, as it will kick the previous connection to make a new connection or mapping. It even could be as simple as dynamic DHCP. Perhaps, you get dropped due to the fact that your IP changes over time. Oh, and even the games and how the work with NAT and multiple hosts of same port can be shit too. A game not being co-operative and not properly coded to handle multiple hosts behind 1 public IP is an issue for many users.
 
Last edited:

GOD'SlittleSERVANT

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
7,188
Soo, this is funny.

I think it was the cable, lol.

I replaced the first one with the same brand (this was a few weeks back). I thought, "there is no way both cables are bad". Out of options, I decided to replace the 2nd with a completely different brand and no disconnects as of 2 hours.
 
Top