GUI for multiple programs.

Black5Lion

Limp Gawd
I'll start off by saying I have zero experience programming aside from a bit of BASIC at school.

Now a little back story, I've been encoding stuff for archiving. I start off with VidCoder, to encode videos in x265 HEVC, with my desired bitrate, then I open the original files in foobar2000 to encode/convert the audio to Opus. After that I open the encoded x265 video + Opus audio + two separate srt subtitle files in MKVMerge, and change any necessary settings (audio delay/subtitle language/etc.). Finally I hit add job to queue so can later mux multiple stuff at once.

What I'd like to have is a GUI that would allow me automate all of those, or at least most of them. I'm thinking something with 3 blank items:
1- The original video file
2- English subtitle file
3- other language subtitle file
I'd just have to add the 3 items and it would do the rest for me (send to vidcoder and encode video in x265-send to foobar2000 and encode to opus-send results to mkvmerge-add the first subtitle file and change language to English- add the second subtitle file and change the language to whatever I predetermined).

Can I make something like this with Visual Basic? Like make the GUI as a normal program and the "DO" button would just launch a script that handled the rest of it? Also how would I write such a script? Could it be a simple .bat file? (like vidcoder.exe add-file x encode with present y Then foobar2000.exe add-file x encode with present z Then mkvmerge.exe add-file.. blah blah)

If all of those programs support command line options to do what you want, then you can just use a .bat file.

If all of those programs support command line options to do what you want, then you can just use a .bat file.

I'm pretty sure I could replace VidCoder with HandBrakeCLI, and mkvmerge is actually a command line tool with a gui. Don't know about foobar2000 though :(