GTX 280 low ppd

bwoody2016

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
169
Hey guys

I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. I seem to only be pulling 3600 ppd with this card. Most people were telling me I should be getting somewhere around 7k. Here's my log:

HTML:
--- Opening Log file [September 10 05:10:59 UTC] 


# Windows GPU Systray Edition #################################################
###############################################################################

                       Folding@Home Client Version 6.30r2

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Roaming\Folding@home-gpu


[05:10:59] - Ask before connecting: No
[05:10:59] - User name: bwoody2016 (Team 33)
[05:10:59] - User ID: 52825A2E36F7EEE9
[05:10:59] - Machine ID: 2
[05:10:59] 
[05:10:59] Gpu type=2 species=31.
[05:10:59] Loaded queue successfully.
[05:10:59] Initialization complete
[05:10:59] 
[05:10:59] + Processing work unit
[05:10:59] Core required: FahCore_15.exe
[05:10:59] Core found.
[05:10:59] Working on queue slot 00 [September 10 05:10:59 UTC]
[05:10:59] + Working ...
[05:10:59] 
[05:10:59] *------------------------------*
[05:10:59] Folding@Home GPU Core -- Beta
[05:10:59] Version 2.09 (Thu May 20 11:51:02 PDT 2010)
[05:10:59] 
[05:10:59] Compiler  : Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 14.00.50727.42 for 80x86 
[05:10:59] Build host: amoeba
[05:10:59] Board Type: Nvidia
[05:10:59] Core      : 
[05:10:59] Preparing to commence simulation
[05:10:59] - Looking at optimizations...
[05:10:59] - Files status OK
[05:10:59] sizeof(CORE_PACKET_HDR) = 512 file=<>
[05:10:59] - Expanded 43835 -> 163067 (decompressed 372.0 percent)
[05:10:59] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=43835 data_size=163067, decompressed_data_size=163067 diff=0
[05:10:59] - Digital signature verified
[05:10:59] 
[05:10:59] Project: 10632 (Run 83, Clone 35, Gen 27)
[05:10:59] 
[05:10:59] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[05:10:59] Entering M.D.
[05:11:05] Will resume from checkpoint file work/wudata_00.ckp
[05:11:05] Tpr hash work/wudata_00.tpr:  1847418534 2763674498 164232163 3752815567 2077942307
[05:11:06] Working on 582 p2750_N68H_AM03
[05:11:06] Client config found, loading data.
[05:11:06] Starting GUI Server
[05:11:06] Resuming from checkpoint
[05:11:06] fcCheckPointResume: retreived and current tpr file hash:
[05:11:06]    0   1847418534   1847418534
[05:11:06]    1   2763674498   2763674498
[05:11:06]    2    164232163    164232163
[05:11:06]    3   3752815567   3752815567
[05:11:06]    4   2077942307   2077942307
[05:11:06] fcCheckPointResume: file hashes same.
[05:11:06] fcCheckPointResume: state restored.
[05:11:06] fcCheckPointResume: name work/wudata_00.log Verified work/wudata_00.log
[05:11:06] fcCheckPointResume: name work/wudata_00.trr Verified work/wudata_00.trr
[05:11:06] fcCheckPointResume: name work/wudata_00.xtc Verified work/wudata_00.xtc
[05:11:06] fcCheckPointResume: name work/wudata_00.edr Verified work/wudata_00.edr
[05:11:06] fcCheckPointResume: state restored 2
[05:11:06] Resumed from checkpoint
[05:11:06] Completed 45%
[05:13:35] Completed 46%
[05:16:01] Completed 47%
[05:18:26] Completed 48%
 

Vaulter98c

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2009
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
5,774
Do you have any flash things running on your computer, is the CPU being tasked by any other app or is this purely idle? maybe AV software?
 

bwoody2016

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
169
Windows sidebar, MSN essentials running, steam is running... CPU is idle never gets higher than 10% usage
 

Vaulter98c

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2009
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
5,774
hmmm.. let it run thru that unit and try another, see what it says online. What are using to estimate PPD? Also, do you have GPUz? grab that and run it, and I think under the sensors tab you can see what the shaderclock should be and what it is really running at as well as the gpu load percentage. You may be stuck in 2D mode. Or you could have just grabbed a fluked unit. Let it run overnight and see what you show tomorrow
 

bwoody2016

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
169
Well I figure out one problem, I had the cores not running at full speed. Now through fahmon im pulling 6k ppd. Major adjustment. Now if can i push 7-8k ill be in business.
 

Vaulter98c

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2009
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
5,774
that sounds better. Let it run tonight and if you arent showing 7k by morning post back and well go from there
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,230
do you have your cpu usage limited in the client or did you leave everything on default settings when you installed the client?
 

Vaulter98c

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2009
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
5,774
Oh, Is he running GPU3? that may be it, isnt there a slight performance drop from 2 to 3?
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,477
Oh, Is he running GPU3? that may be it, isnt there a slight performance drop from 2 to 3?

There is if you are running core 15 on GT 2xx hardware, G92 seems to be OK but on everything else PPD is doing by about a quarter
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,230
Oh, Is he running GPU3? that may be it, isnt there a slight performance drop from 2 to 3?

ahh didnt even notice he was running gpu3.. good catch..

there is a PPD drop with the gpu3 client.. my gtx 260 @ 600/1512/1106 did around 7200 PPD on the original 2 GPU3 WU's.. but shader clocks are important as hell with gpu3 which is why the g92's and gtx 400's do so much better on them.. at 1404 i avg'd 6200-6400 PPD.. my 8800GS's only lose 200 PPD between core11 and core 15 WU's but im shader limited on all of the WU's which is why it doesnt change.. the 8800GT's and 8800GTS 512mb and their 9 series rebrands do pretty well on gpu3 as well when you get the shaders to 1836mhz or higher..

Code:
Project ID: 10632
 Core: OPENMMGPU
 Credit: 611
 Frames: 100


 Name: 8800GS 1
 Path: C:\Users\sirmonkey\AppData\Roaming\Folding@home-gpu1\
 Number of Frames Observed: 300

 Min. Time / Frame : 00:01:58 - 4,473.8 PPD
 Avg. Time / Frame : 00:02:03 - 4,291.9 PPD
 Cur. Time / Frame : 00:02:02 - 4,327.1 PPD
 R3F. Time / Frame : 00:02:02 - 4,327.1 PPD
 All  Time / Frame : 00:02:02 - 4,327.1 PPD
 Eff. Time / Frame : 00:02:11 - 4,029.8 PPD


 Name: 8800GS 2
 Path: C:\Users\sirmonkey\AppData\Roaming\Folding@home-gpu2\
 Number of Frames Observed: 300

 Min. Time / Frame : 00:01:55 - 4,590.5 PPD
 Avg. Time / Frame : 00:01:56 - 4,550.9 PPD
Code:
Project ID: 6600
 Core: GROGPU2
 Credit: 450
 Frames: 100


 Name: 8800GS 1
 Path: C:\Users\sirmonkey\AppData\Roaming\Folding@home-gpu1\
 Number of Frames Observed: 300

 Min. Time / Frame : 00:01:17 - 5,049.4 PPD
 Avg. Time / Frame : 00:01:31 - 4,272.5 PPD


 Name: 8800GS 2
 Path: C:\Users\sirmonkey\AppData\Roaming\Folding@home-gpu2\
 Number of Frames Observed: 300

 Min. Time / Frame : 00:01:25 - 4,574.1 PPD
 Avg. Time / Frame : 00:01:25 - 4,574.1 PPD
 

bwoody2016

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
169
Holy snap... I went from starting at 3k. I then changed my usage to full power and went to 6k. By instaling gpu2 now im rocking 8600 ppd. Thanks guys!
 

lehmann

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,362
Your shaders should run 1600 easy, turn your fan to 60% and you'll get 9,000-10,000. make sure the cards fan is clean
 
Top