Given an old computer, retro XP gaming rig?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by OhSigmaChi, Jun 15, 2019.

  1. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    So I was given an old computer, it has an Athlon 64 3000+ CPU, Asus K8N8XLA mobo, 512mb of ddr ram, and a Geforce FX 5200 AGP graphics card.

    I did a little digging around and I guess the 5200 is pretty much straight garbage.

    Could I turn this into a decent XP gaming rig? 2 gb of DDR is 5 bucks on ebay, but what is the most cost effective AGP card?

    I guess I could root around for a CPU upgrade too, is there a marked difference between a 3000+ and a 3400+? Looks Like I could get a 3400+ for abour $30.
     
  2. Alienslare

    Alienslare Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Well if you want to know by gfx agp standards:
    Radeon 3850
    Radeon 4670
    Geforce 7950GT
     
  3. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    I understand those are the "best AGP cards" but what would make a cost effective upgrade for the FX 5200 dumpster fire (not necessarily top of the heap)?
     
  4. Alienslare

    Alienslare Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    In that case Geforce 6600gt gddr3 will do just fine.
     
    OhSigmaChi likes this.
  5. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    790
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
  6. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    I scored an Sapphire HD 3650 AGP for $25 so going with that probably.
     
    FlawleZ likes this.
  7. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    790
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Wow that's a great deal
     
  8. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Is it? I saw the HD 3850 s going for pretty crazy money, but couldn't really find much on how the 3650 stacks up against the legendary 3850.
     
  9. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTY 2017

    Messages:
    21,749
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    What games are you wanting to play on this ancient rig?

    I probably would have stuck with the Nvidia 7800 or 7900 series or the higher 6800 series. AMD's (ATI) drivers sucked monkey dick back in those days.
     
  10. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Doom 2, Oblivian, Half Life 1 & 2.

    I think I still have Serious Sam in a closet somewhere too.
     
  11. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Oh, and Janes Longbow 2! which I definitely still have in the closet.
     
  12. matt167

    matt167 Gawd

    Messages:
    715
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    I have a Windows XP gamer computer, but what I did was use a Dell Optiplex 755 which although came out with Windows Vista, it DID support XP, and a Windows XP disc for Dell loaded just fine. Since it's got a PCIE slot, you can use just about any single slot PCIE card you want. I use a GT 730 1gb DDR3 variant. I think I spent $30 on that card still in the box.. Doom 3, Postal 2, Nascar Racing 2003, Farcry. All are games I play on it. 60 frames per second locked.

    I still have an old FX5200. I bought it long ago to be able to play Doom3 and it has enough hp to play but not great
     
    OhSigmaChi likes this.
  13. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    790
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    It's a good deal considering the price of any other half decent AGP video card. Its also quite a bit faster than a 6800GT, which is night and day compared to a an FX5200.
     

    Attached Files:

    OhSigmaChi likes this.
  14. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,356
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    That's the same cpu specs as one of my systems that I use today. :ROFLMAO:

    Depending on what your budget is, 4gb the ram, add the fastest video card the hardware can handle (remember the power supply!), ssd and that's about as maxed out as it can get. Then play, play, play. (y)
     
    OhSigmaChi likes this.
  15. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    SSD might be tricky, Mobo only supports IDE...
     
  16. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    790
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
  17. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
  18. ryan_975

    ryan_975 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,082
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    A hard drive still has a 5-20ms access time where an SSD would have something like a 0.1ms access time. That's where the majority of the experienced improvement comes from.
     
    Susquehannock likes this.
  19. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,356
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    OhSigmaChi likes this.
  20. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,356
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    On systems this old ime, it's not really that much of a speed improvement. I can barely tell the load time differences in the 2 systems that I have with ssds and those with just regular hard drives.
     
    OhSigmaChi likes this.
  21. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    I have one that I use for cloning drives from old computers, but I just use it on my bench PC. Did you install one inside your case?
     
  22. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,356
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    I have, but you do have to make sure there is enough clearance as it plugs directly into the ide connector on the motherboard. Otherwise, you'll have to use a small ide extension cable like this one:
    https://www.microsatacables.com/40pin-male-to-female-ide-extension-cable-ide-40p-m-f
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2019 at 5:14 PM
  23. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    790
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    I bought one of these Kingspec drives years ago with a Laptop that had a decent AMD Turion X2 but was massively helf back by the ancient potato of a hard drive. The difference was night and day even using the PATA interface on the older laptop.
     
  24. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,356
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    It depends on what you're loading on the system. If it's swapping all night and day because windows 7/10, then it will make a huge difference.
     
  25. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    It's running XP and has a 7200rpm HDD. I'll probably stick to that drive for now though.
     
  26. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,754
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Steam doesn't work on XP anymore, so you have to get a patched install that has updates disabled, otherwise Steam will crash as soon as you start it.

    IMG_3306.JPG IMG_3307.JPG IMG_3308.JPG

    this is what I have in my retro XP machine,
    IMG_2472.JPG IMG_2486.JPG
     
    SamirD likes this.
  27. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,356
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    That's plenty fast for xp. :) Especially if you have the memory maxed out.
     
  28. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    SamirD likes this.