Given an old computer, retro XP gaming rig?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by OhSigmaChi, Jun 15, 2019.

  1. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    So I was given an old computer, it has an Athlon 64 3000+ CPU, Asus K8N8XLA mobo, 512mb of ddr ram, and a Geforce FX 5200 AGP graphics card.

    I did a little digging around and I guess the 5200 is pretty much straight garbage.

    Could I turn this into a decent XP gaming rig? 2 gb of DDR is 5 bucks on ebay, but what is the most cost effective AGP card?

    I guess I could root around for a CPU upgrade too, is there a marked difference between a 3000+ and a 3400+? Looks Like I could get a 3400+ for abour $30.
     
  2. Alienslare

    Alienslare Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Well if you want to know by gfx agp standards:
    Radeon 3850
    Radeon 4670
    Geforce 7950GT
     
  3. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    I understand those are the "best AGP cards" but what would make a cost effective upgrade for the FX 5200 dumpster fire (not necessarily top of the heap)?
     
  4. Alienslare

    Alienslare Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    In that case Geforce 6600gt gddr3 will do just fine.
     
    mnewxcv and OhSigmaChi like this.
  5. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    793
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    mnewxcv likes this.
  6. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    I scored an Sapphire HD 3650 AGP for $25 so going with that probably.
     
    FlawleZ likes this.
  7. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    793
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Wow that's a great deal
     
  8. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Is it? I saw the HD 3850 s going for pretty crazy money, but couldn't really find much on how the 3650 stacks up against the legendary 3850.
     
  9. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTY 2017

    Messages:
    21,769
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    What games are you wanting to play on this ancient rig?

    I probably would have stuck with the Nvidia 7800 or 7900 series or the higher 6800 series. AMD's (ATI) drivers sucked monkey dick back in those days.
     
  10. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Doom 2, Oblivian, Half Life 1 & 2.

    I think I still have Serious Sam in a closet somewhere too.
     
  11. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Oh, and Janes Longbow 2! which I definitely still have in the closet.
     
  12. matt167

    matt167 Gawd

    Messages:
    776
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    I have a Windows XP gamer computer, but what I did was use a Dell Optiplex 755 which although came out with Windows Vista, it DID support XP, and a Windows XP disc for Dell loaded just fine. Since it's got a PCIE slot, you can use just about any single slot PCIE card you want. I use a GT 730 1gb DDR3 variant. I think I spent $30 on that card still in the box.. Doom 3, Postal 2, Nascar Racing 2003, Farcry. All are games I play on it. 60 frames per second locked.

    I still have an old FX5200. I bought it long ago to be able to play Doom3 and it has enough hp to play but not great
     
    OhSigmaChi likes this.
  13. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    793
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    It's a good deal considering the price of any other half decent AGP video card. Its also quite a bit faster than a 6800GT, which is night and day compared to a an FX5200.
     

    Attached Files:

    OhSigmaChi likes this.
  14. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,494
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    That's the same cpu specs as one of my systems that I use today. :ROFLMAO:

    Depending on what your budget is, 4gb the ram, add the fastest video card the hardware can handle (remember the power supply!), ssd and that's about as maxed out as it can get. Then play, play, play. (y)
     
    OhSigmaChi likes this.
  15. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    SSD might be tricky, Mobo only supports IDE...
     
  16. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    793
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    OhSigmaChi and pendragon1 like this.
  17. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
  18. ryan_975

    ryan_975 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,150
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    A hard drive still has a 5-20ms access time where an SSD would have something like a 0.1ms access time. That's where the majority of the experienced improvement comes from.
     
    thebufenator and Susquehannock like this.
  19. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,494
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    OhSigmaChi likes this.
  20. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,494
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    On systems this old ime, it's not really that much of a speed improvement. I can barely tell the load time differences in the 2 systems that I have with ssds and those with just regular hard drives.
     
    OhSigmaChi likes this.
  21. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    I have one that I use for cloning drives from old computers, but I just use it on my bench PC. Did you install one inside your case?
     
  22. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,494
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    I have, but you do have to make sure there is enough clearance as it plugs directly into the ide connector on the motherboard. Otherwise, you'll have to use a small ide extension cable like this one:
    https://www.microsatacables.com/40pin-male-to-female-ide-extension-cable-ide-40p-m-f
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2019
  23. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    793
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    I bought one of these Kingspec drives years ago with a Laptop that had a decent AMD Turion X2 but was massively helf back by the ancient potato of a hard drive. The difference was night and day even using the PATA interface on the older laptop.
     
  24. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,494
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    It depends on what you're loading on the system. If it's swapping all night and day because windows 7/10, then it will make a huge difference.
     
  25. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    It's running XP and has a 7200rpm HDD. I'll probably stick to that drive for now though.
     
  26. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,788
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Steam doesn't work on XP anymore, so you have to get a patched install that has updates disabled, otherwise Steam will crash as soon as you start it.

    IMG_3306.JPG IMG_3307.JPG IMG_3308.JPG

    this is what I have in my retro XP machine,
    IMG_2472.JPG IMG_2486.JPG
     
    SamirD likes this.
  27. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,494
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    That's plenty fast for xp. :) Especially if you have the memory maxed out.
     
  28. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    SamirD likes this.
  29. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    So, due to a misleading or mislabeled Ebay ad and my own malfeasance (it said AGP, but the pics clearly showed PCI-E) the HD 3650 is a bust. (anybody want a PCIE HD 3650?) I thought not.

    I did get a 7600GS, an Athlon 64 3700+ (fastes socket 754 CPU EVAAAARRRR!!!!) and a GB of RAM. I'm about to load Serious Sam and see what happens.
     
    SamirD and thebufenator like this.
  30. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Serious Sam was smooth as butter at 1280x960... on to Far Cry! and maybe even... dare I say it? CRYSIS!!!!!!!
     
    SamirD likes this.
  31. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Far Cry runs flawlessly with all settings maxed... "Can it run Crysis?"
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2019
    SamirD likes this.
  32. acascianelli

    acascianelli [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,828
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Strange to see someone refer to an Athlon 64 system as a 'retro' gaming system. :)
     
  33. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,494
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Yep, especially since I'm using one right now. :eek:
     
    Meeho likes this.
  34. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    I figure since it's running a no-longer-supported OS and it's CPU is at least 2 complete families of CPU old (not counting all the Zambezi and Vishera and Kaveri and Bristol Ridge madness inside the Buldozer family) it qualifies.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  35. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    793
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Actually, I have this all setup in one of my towers still. The 4000+ was the fastest S754 CPU.

    tAJTAOL.png
     
    SamirD likes this.
  36. OhSigmaChi

    OhSigmaChi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Ok, so the 3700 is the fastest desktop CPU with an IHS, the 4000 is a moblie processor with no IHS. I didn't want to mess with getting a CPU cooler to make good contact with the die.

    Does your motherboard boot to the correct target frequency or do you have to use crystalcpu to get the correct frequency?
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2019
    SamirD likes this.
  37. ryan_975

    ryan_975 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,150
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    A distinction without much a difference. The Mobile 4000+ works in desktop boards as long as the BIOS supports it, and an IHS can be put on it if your cooler needs it.
     
    FlawleZ and SamirD like this.
  38. acascianelli

    acascianelli [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,828
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    I still actively use an old HP x6200 with 2x Xeon 5160's. I believe that is of a similar vintage.
     
    OhSigmaChi and SamirD like this.
  39. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    793
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    It detects the correct frequency. Not the best overclocking board as the options are limited. Good s754 boards like the DFI are very difficult to find these days.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  40. JRZoid

    JRZoid [H]Lite

    Messages:
    91
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Nooo not that baddd. Probaly almost though. About as bad as they wanted to just say f it and spend less on Athlon stuff. what the world in hell you want that for?