Gigabyte GV-R587UD-1GD owners: Please help

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by Mastakill, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. Mastakill

    Mastakill Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Hi all,

    I've been having trouble with my Gigabyte GV-R587UD-1GD. I already tested it in all possible ways (even in a different computer) and recently send it back to the shop for RMA. Yesterday I received the replacement card and guess what... It still has the same problems... :(

    I would like it very much if some more Gigabyte GV-R587UD-1GD owners could test their card to see if they have the same problem...

    How to test for issue nr1 (easiest)

    * Attach 2 displays to your Gigabyte GV-R587UD-1GD (I have a Dell U2410 on DVI and a Panasonic Plasma on HDMI)
    * Play a Flash video in a browser with "Hardware Acceleration" enabled (full screen seems best for triggering the issue)
    * Within a few minutes, your displays will start showing a corrupted image
    * The corruptions usually goes away when closing your browser
    * If you keep on playing the video, your computer may freeze after awhile

    and there you have problem nr1, this one is the easiest to trigger

    How to test for issue nr2

    * Attach 2 displays to your Gigabyte GV-R587UD-1GD (I have a Dell U2410 on DVI and a Panasonic Plasma on HDMI)
    * Run a 3D stressing application (I found Furmark and especially Starcraft 2 good apps for this)
    * If nothing happens after 30-60mins, close the app and switch your displays to another combination of ports and try again
    * When the issue occurs, your display will show a corrupted image (a little different from issue nr1). The image corruption will usually stay, even after closing the application. Rebooting solves it. Sometimes your computer may also freeze.

    Issue nr2 is a bit harder to trigger. I haven't been able to find a way to trigger it all the time.
    It is related to what display is attached where. It happens a lot faster when 2 displays are attached, but with my RMAd videocard I even had the issue with only 1 display attached after awhile (it seemed to get worse after awhile).
    Some day, one combination will work ok, while the next day it doesn't...

    With my new videocard I have only been able to trigger this issue once (yesterday night- again event 4101), but today I have tried several hours without "luck"... I'm afraid though that it will get worse again after awhile...

    More details

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=256744
    --> this thread contains many more details about how and what I tested on the videocard before sending it for RMA

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SPJ2XLlSAAc
    --> this shows the image corruption caused by Flash with Hardware Acceleration (you can clearly see it around 2:15)

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SPJ2XLlSAAc
    --> this shows the image corruption caused by Furmark (you can see the corruption at 7:51 and a little later during the shutdown of MS Windows at 9:26)
     
  2. Einhanderkiller

    Einhanderkiller 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,363
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
  3. Mastakill

    Mastakill Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    I always run with the latest non-beta bios / drivers / software

    So I've had F7 for more than a month now...

    Thanks for the tip though.
     
  4. Mastakill

    Mastakill Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    no one here who has this videocard?
     
  5. Mastakill

    Mastakill Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    So far I havent been able to reproduce issue nr2 anymore...

    Yesterday I played a little more than 1 hour of Starcraft 2 without issues. Tonight I'll play some more Starcraft 2 on different output ports, followed by some Furmark, to see if the issue is really non-existend...

    Issue nr1 still exists though, so I would still really appreciate if someone with the same videocard could try to reproduce issue nr1...

    Thanks!
     
  6. Mastakill

    Mastakill Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    bad news again...

    Yesterday, as promised, I played some more Starcraft 2...

    This time, after about 1,5 hours, issue nr2 occurred :(

    The image got corrupted for about 5 seconds, so I closed Starcraft 2, checked "Event Viewer" and again event 4101 had occurred.

    I proceeded playing after that (another 1.5 hours) and did a 30min Furmark run after that, but the issue didn't occur anymore...

    So it is clear that also issue nr2 still exist with new videocard, although a lot less frequent...
    I fear though that it will again get worse after awhile :(

    I contacted Gigabyte again and hope they have some kind of solution, but I'm starting to fear this is a design issue :(

    Once more I kindly request owners of the Gigabyte GV-R587UD-1GD to test at least for issue nr1 (really easy and fast to do)
    The more input I have, the more chance I have of Gigabyte looking in the right direction...

    edit:
    I just had a talk with the shop about this and they are able to reproduce the issue with Flash (issue nr1) on my old Gigabyte GV-R587UD-1GD and on another Gigabyte GV-R587UD-1GD in their shop (so not my new Gigabyte GV-R587UD-1GD, but a third one)
    So issue nr1 seems structural on all Gigabyte GV-R587UD-1GD...
    The question is then: is this a purely hardware issue or a software issue
    I have it with Catalyst 10.6 and 10.7 and all Flash versions that support hardware acceleration
    The shop tested tested it with the same software + the display driver from the Gigabyte website (I think that is still a 10.6ish version)
    The fact that the issue does not seem to occur on other brand ATI 5870 cards, does seem to indicate that it is a hardware issue if you ask me...

    The shop hasn't been able to reproduce issue nr2 on my old videocard, but as I've explained already, this issue is a bit harder to reproduce (I now asked them how long and how they exactly tested for this)
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2010
  7. Mastakill

    Mastakill Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Gigabyte just replied to my issue and coincidentally released bios F8 2 days ago...

    I just tried that bios and F8 actually did solve the issue with Adobe Flash...

    Since the issue with heavy 3D is a lot harder to trigger, I don't know yet if that one is solved as well

    I'll keep you informed
     
  8. Mastakill

    Mastakill Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    it seems the F8 BIOS has solved all my issues

    I havent had a crash after hours of gaming