Getting Static and feed back over HDMI

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs & Equipment' started by Makeroflostsouls, Dec 15, 2018.

  1. Makeroflostsouls

    Makeroflostsouls 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    I hooked up my gaming pc to my Marantz receiver and I'm getting a lot of static and feed back in my speakers. When the video card is loaded up it gets worse. Nothing else in my rack has this issue. I also have a HTPC in the rack that will play video back with out an issue but does get some feed back when playing a game. Is this a grounding issue? I understand coil wine, but this is static. Anything I can do to fix this issue? Everything is on its own 20amp outlet. I also have 2 APC G5BLK power conditioners. Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. capt_cope

    capt_cope Gawd

    Messages:
    886
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    This sounds a LOT like an issue I had with a marantz reciever - ended up being a bad cap on the digital input board. Have you tried the other sources into the same hdmi input that you've got your gaming PC hooked into? Here's the thread that helped me fix mine:

    https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-r...m-receiver-owners-thread-12.html#post30445770

    **EDIT TO CLARIFY**
    I forgot to mention - my receiver is an NR-1501, and the thread I linked also covers the NR-1501 - obviously if you have a different receiver that info is likely not correct. Given the similarities in symptoms, even if you're not talking about an NR-1501, I wouldn't be surprised if someone has got a similar guide for whatever receiver you do have.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2018
  3. djoye

    djoye 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,747
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Unrelated question, I'm looking to buy a Marantz receiver but I need to know if it will act as a phantom monitor when connected to my GPU's HDMI.

    I currently have an older Denon that I'm using solely for audio output over HDMI. I don't have a monitor connected to the receiver, but I do see a monitor in Windows, so the AVR is acting as a display. I need that functionality because I use DisplayPort for my monitor and do not want to go through the AVR. I have Onkyo receivers that will not activate (HDCP?) unless a display is connected, that's bad for how I want to use it.
     
  4. Makeroflostsouls

    Makeroflostsouls 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Pretty sure mine does, I’ll double check for you. It does show up as a display in windows. I’ll see if I can pass audio to it with out my projector hooked up.
     
  5. asheron42

    asheron42 n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    I've had this happen before with an unshielded HDMI cable that was laying on top of a power cable. I also had a HDMI cable with a bend in it that would have some audio and video dropouts. Hopefully it's something simple like that and not an internal capacitor problem.

    My Marantz shows up as an external audio device, not as a monitor. When the TV is plugged in or comes on, everything stops (short interruption) so that it can renegotiate the signal. I can push sound to it at any time without a monitor attached to the receiver.
     
  6. Megalith

    Megalith 24-bit/48kHz Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,004
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Try a fiber-optic HDMI cable or Hum X.
     
  7. Makeroflostsouls

    Makeroflostsouls 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    I ended up buying a new house so I’ll have to wait till I build a new room to see it’s still an issue.
     
    Brian_B likes this.
  8. Brian_B

    Brian_B 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,466
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    That’s one way to fix it
     
  9. XeeN

    XeeN Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    238
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    I have this same/similar issue and have been trying many things for a long time to resolve it, with no luck so far.

    Currently: PC via HDMI cable to a Denon x4000, pre-outs to a Parasound 5 channel amp: as I understand it, a small bit of electrical noise dumps as ground through the system. If I don't use the pre-outs to an amp, and just power the speakers from the Denon, then it cleans that noise up.

    I use a separate display port to HDMI adapter+HDMI cable to hook straight up to the TV. I game on the TV off this PC so I didn't want to introduce any potential input lag if I could help it.

    I've thought about optical HDMI but I believe a key there will be to not use a hybrid cable so that there is no path for an electrical signal to bleed that extra noise across.
     
    Makeroflostsouls likes this.
  10. Makeroflostsouls

    Makeroflostsouls 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008

    I’m going from my Marantz to an outlaw audio 5000 , 5 channel amp. Didn’t think about it causing the issue. Once I get my room built in the new house I’ll have to check this. Thanks for post.
     
  11. XeeN

    XeeN Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    238
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    If you remove the ground pin (don't do this) on the amp, it will cut out most if not all of the noise. I tried HumX on all gear but my amp will destroy one of those on power up since they are only rated for a certain max power draw (I did this). Since I don't want to do a ground lift on my amp for safety reasons, I'm dealing with the noise. I believe what we have is some electricity passing over the hdmi cable (maybe through the outer shield or voltage rails), through the receiver (not grounded itself), and then to the amp over the outer shield on the RCA cables (not balanced), dumping out the ground pin on the amp. It's enough that the very slight amount of voltage is carried out the speaker outs of the amp and plays on our speakers.

    You know, I might try to find a true optical-only (not hybrid) hdmi cable and test it. I bought HumX's but two of those would cover the cost of most optical hdmi. I'll report back.