Get 720x400 on Windows 98.

Discussion in 'Displays' started by guiddqd, Sep 6, 2018.

  1. guiddqd

    guiddqd n00bie

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Hello, I have an issue with Doom on my win98 pc.
    First off, I use this for speedrunning and using another os or source port isnt an option.
    When the game launches, my LCD takes too long to change resolution which causes a loss of time.
    The game is running in 720x400 so I wonder if changing the desktop to the same resolution would solve the problem?
    If it does, I tried with powerstrip. It wouldnt add 720x400.
    I also tried quickres but the free version doesnt allow custom resolution and Im not paying 25$ for that...
     
  2. XoR_

    XoR_ Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    365
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Use DOS and CRT
    Countless demons who lost their wretched lives that way agree this is the best setup for genuine DOOM experience
     
  3. guiddqd

    guiddqd n00bie

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    I agree but the CRT takes so much space...
    Id at least like to try to get 720x400 on Windows before I move on to dos and maybe a crt.
     
  4. Armenius

    Armenius [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,032
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Well, if you're concerned about speedrunning may as well go all the way since a LCD adds input lag, especially with non-native resolutions.

    But you can try tweaking the registry. You need to know what the timings needed for 720x400 are, though. This should work with Win98. I got the timings from here: http://tinyvga.com/vga-timing/720x400@85Hz
    Code:
    REGEDIT4
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\Display\0001\MODES\8\720,400] 
    @=""
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\Display\0001\MODES\16\720,400] 
    @=""
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\Display\0001\MODES\32\720,400] 
    @=""
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\Display\0001\TIMINGS\720,400]
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\Display\0001\TIMINGS\720,400\85Hz] 
    @="936,756,828,446,401,404,4,35500000,8500,8,15833" 
    "Supported"="BPP+8+16+32,DDRAW"
     
  5. N4CR

    N4CR 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,736
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Back with XP and 98, I used to run Visualisation/VJ software on all sorts of weird as hell projector resolutions, likely that is one I used also.
    I found Nvidia was an absolute cunt with supporting weird resolutions and or onger cable runs, so if you have an AMD GPU laying around give it a try.