Gaming Server

DoMeHardR

Limp Gawd
I'm going to set up a gaming server to colocate and was looking for some advice in what to get. I'm brand new to the smp area so no flaming please :) At first, I will probably only be hosting maybe 6-7 servers but would hope to get a lot more going. I was thinking of getting 2x xp2000's and a gig of 2700 ram to start. For the motherboard anyone have any good recommendations? I don't really need anything fancy. Mainly just something reliable and inexpensive. Thanks.

If anyone thinks I should get diff cpus or something feel free to comment.

Forgot to say, from what I have heard the xp --> mp isn't very hard. I was going to do that on the xp's to turn them into mp's.

6-7 daemons on the same box, or 6-7 machines? You do understand that most daemons use up both a lot of CPU power and bandwidth, correct?

Game server usually don't use that amount of cpu power.... but more ram. Game server i have run went fine on single xp 2000+ but they used up a lot of ram (eg. 700 mb ram used) with 2 - 3 games (ut)

Yeah, I have run 5 servers UT servers on a much less powerful computer and it seemed fine. I think a gig of ram should be decent for now. Most of the servers are private for clans (10-12 players usually) and almost always aren't full. If it starts to get very slow I will upgrade it. Thanks for all the replys guys.

Another question,(kinda off topic) I usually run RedHat but I have heard wonderful things about FreeBSD. Would running UT under the linux emulation on FreeBSD be that much better?