FreeNAS vs WHS2011

Azhar

Fixing stupid since 1972
I ordered my new media server parts a couple days ago and it'll hopefully be in this weekend. I've been trying to decide which route to go, with regarding operating systems. FreeNAS is easy. Takes 20 seconds to install and you're set to run it on another computer's web browser. No tricks, no nothing. But I've no experience with WHS 2011 (nor the original WHS) whatsoever. I like the drive pool idea where you throw in a drive and it'll act like one large drive pool (is that how it works?).

I'll have six 2TB drives along with a 500GB drive for the OS.

What I want to ensure is that if a drive goes bad, I don't lose anything. Pull it out and slap in a new one and it'll rebuild. I know RAID does that, but does WHS drive pool do that too?

What if the WHS or FreeNAS install becomes corrupted? If I reinstall WHS or FreeNAS, will the drive pool or RAID setup go bad too?

Or am I better off keeping the drives separated ( d:, e:, f:, g:, h:, i: ) so if one drive go bad or the OS corrupts, it doesn't bring down my entire library?

I'm hesitant using FreeNAS also because it probably uses EXT instead of NTFS, so I can't just pull the drives out and put it in a Windows computer if something happens to the media server.

I currently have over 4TB of movies and television shows. I have no desire to lose any of them.

Drive pooling was removed from WHS2011. I don't know specifically how it operated, but MS decided to pull it for some reason. I haven't done much looking into FreeNAS, as I'm trying to decide between WHS2011, Flexraid/Win7, and UnRAID.