Free HDD Imaging Software

shurcooL

[H]ard|Gawd
Hi,

Suppose I have a laptop that has one hard-drive and a working system on it. I want to be able to format the entire laptop, install a completely new OS, mess around with it, and then restore the system back to its original working state.

So it seems I'll need some hard-drive backup/imaging software that you can burn on a disk and boot off of.

I've never used this type of software before, so the first thing a quick google search led me to was DriveClone Home 5, which seems to do what I want (as well as their other Pro/Express versions), but there's only a 30-day free trial.

I also found this list of free software, but there are quite a lot. Some searches here suggested 2 free solutions: Clonezilla and DriveImage XML. But DriveImage needs a running copy of XP to work.

So that leaves Clonezilla as the only free tool. Is this a good choice for me? It seems harder to use, but I've installed Linux and stuff before, so I know what a "mount" is, etc.

Any suggestions are welcome.

If the laptop has a Seagate hard drive, you will be able to use the free Discwizard tool, which is a version of Acronis True image, compatible with Windows 7 and all before.
http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/support/downloads/discwizard

Clonezilla is fine. Except, it is not very user-friendly (no GUI).

You may need to create a second partition. May be not.
Give it a test drive on a virtual machine and see if it can do what you want.

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately it's not a Seagate.

You may need to create a second partition. May be not.
What do you mean?

My laptop's hard-drive already has multiple partitions on it. It's got XP and Ubuntu on it. I was looking to make an image of the entire hard-drive, so all the partitions and boot-related things are preserved in their entirety. In other words, I'd like each byte to be exactly the same pre-backup and post-restore.