First HTPC tips/advice

Falls Included

I'm happy & gay too
ok. i've been thinking about building an htpc for a few weeks now. i have been using xbmc for a few years, and i'm absolutely spoiled by it, but i find more and more often that the xbox just isnt up to the challenge of playing HD/newer codec files. i do not feel the need to have a tuner in my box, as i really just download all the shows i feel like watching anyway... :rolleyes:

My Main Questions!_____________
opinions of vista as htpc os? codec compatibility?
does ram speed really matter with htpc's? i can get 2gb ddr2-5300 for 35 bucks anymore.
will i get use out of a dvd burner in the system?
can some one point me to a quiet dvd-rom (sata)

Currently Owned Hardware!_____________
Hard Drive
4x 400Gb Seagate 7200.10

Speakers
JBL 6.1 + Denon 885

OS
Vista Ultimate

Monitor
Westinghouse TX-42F430S

What I Want!_________________________
Case
Antec NSK2400

PSU
Included

Video Card
8600GT

Keyboard + Mouse
MS MCE ZV1-00004 IR Wireless Mini Keyboard
-and/or-
Logitech Harmony 880

HSF
Zalman CNPS7000B

Motherboard
Asus P5K-VM

CPU
C2D

RAM
2Gb

DVD-ROM
Sata DVD Burner.

well, i've got about 300 in 1 xbox, and 200 in the other one. so i suppose to replace those both, with 600 gigs, would be nice. so i would pick up another 320 and maybe throw in a small boot drive. so i'd say 500-600 bucks, not including the tv.

since i have 1 hd, and 2 copies of vista, i see that 600 is a very easy mark to hit, considering that i don't need a monster machine for this to work.

looks like e63x0's are extremely cheap on ebay. have to pick one up.

in that case, heres what I'm doing:

Athlon64 X2 4000+
Biostar TForce TF7050 w/ HDMI out
2 GB of DDR2 ram
Antec NSK2400

if you do that, you can EASILY be in the 500-600 dollar budget. The built in video will be enough to support HD when paired with the CPU.