Firewalls: Software AND Hardware

Battle_Rattle

Limp Gawd
Hey people,

What are the benefits and/or problems associated with using a software and hardware together. A computer build professional reccomended just running my router/firewall but I really want to be able control outbound packets. I see no need for adobe, microsoft, or anyone else to send out information without me knowing.

I have recently switched to a linksys router and want to put sygate back on.

Cheers ~ Battle

I say "It's up to the user and their computer use/habits/needs.

For me, a NAT router is all I want/need. All I want to do is keep the bad guys out from my home and office networks. I do small business networks for a living, I use quality antivirus, windows updates, anti-spyware protection....and practice good security measures regarding accounts, priveledges, shares, etc.

I don't do P2P warez download software, and keep away from other bad stuff, no e-mail clients, only web based/OWA. So combined with the above, I am very low risk.

I find software firewalls "naggy", and they bog down performance.

So for me, a software firewall is a "bandaid fix"...as bad stuff should not make it to my computer in the first place.

For some users though, who do some higher risk stuff, knowing about some outbound stuff might be better for them.

Sygate was great. Too bad it's bought up by Symansuck...and has no more updates coming.

Other "good" free firewalls, getting extinct. Kerio, Outpost.

ZoneAlarm...ugh...may as well start formatting my PC now.

YeOldeStonecat said:
I say "It's up to the user and their computer use/habits/needs. .......................

Thanks for replying Stone....

As for "bad stuff" im not at risk either... I just get pissed off when any program is trying to communicate with an outside server for no reason. I can easily recall adobe, microsoft, and any number of "safe" companies sending out useless requests.

Also