Finally finishing the theater

computerpro3

LightningRod
Back in 2006, I was still in high school and living with my parents. When we moved to our new house, I made a deal with my father - I got shafted with a really small bedroom (my sisters wanted the big ones), but he would finish the basement with me and make it into a hangout area with my friends. It would kill several birds with one stone - add value to the house, teach me some construction skills, and most of all be a fun thing to do together.

Everything was going great for a while, until quite frankly we ran out of cash, and then things got really crazy with his company getting sold. In the meantime, I graduated high school and now am in my last semester of college.

Over this thanksgiving break, we'll be finishing it up together - and doing it right. We paid to have the insulation put in and the mudding and taping done (since mudding and taping blows), but nearly everything else will be done by us (not stuff like the wood stove install, etc). He hired a home theater contractor to help things along, but turns out they have no idea what they are doing so I had to take over managing the project.

Anyway, I'm really looking forward to it from both an emotional standpoint (something we never got to finish) and the standpoint of "playing with new toys." Granted, since I live 700 miles away now I won't get to enjoy it often, but it will be still be a hell of a lot of fun to build.

Here's the equipment list. All of this is ordered and will be delivered in the next couple of days except for the projector, which will come in December (but I'm bringing my own projector home so we can watch movies over Thanksgiving).

JVC RS45 Projector
Pioneer SC-55 Elite Receiver
Pioneer Blu-Ray player
7 channel Elemental Designs ED[c]6 with upgraded DE 250 compression drivers
Seaton Submersive Hp subwoofer
Da-Lite Permwall Cinemavision screen (they were out of stock so we ordered a Draper instead)
APC UPS's
RTI Remotes
HTPC