facebook silliness

honegod

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 31, 2000
Messages
6,942
I have no interest in 'social media'.
but I keep being directed to Facebook for information on subjects I AM interested in.
how can I access the data on facebook I want without submitting my all to Facebook ?

posted here because it IS a security question, neh ?
 

Shoganai

Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
852
uBlock Origin, Ghostery, and if you’re on Firefox ... Facebook Container.
 
  • Like
Reactions: x509
like this
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
887
uBlock Origin, Ghostery, and if you’re on Firefox ... Facebook Container.

Also Privacy Badger.

Should be running these regardless. Facebook (and Google and everyone else) will track you regardless of whether you have an account with them.
 
  • Like
Reactions: x509
like this

UltraTaco

Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
999
I'm nt sure it's possible, mate. In order to 'disappear', one must lose part of their life.

Doomed, mate.
 

Cmustang87

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
4,497
On top of the above suggestions, I'd also recommend you get a pi-hole DNS server at home and run that. Also, if you're following a Facebook link always use Private/Incognito so cookies are not used. Facebook loves it when you're logged into other services when you visit their website.
 
  • Like
Reactions: x509
like this

ZeqOBpf6

Gawd
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
628
Not a huge fan of Ghostery. They send out ads of their own and their FF version sent data back home https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghostery#Criticism

I Run uBlock *origin*, DuckDuckGo Privacy Essentials, and NoScript. I'd imagine FB does plenty of tracking in-house so I'm not sure what would be blocked vs. still allowed, kinda seems like putting a helmet on to shoot heroin but I may be wrong.
 

Westwood

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
3,529
Not a huge fan of Ghostery. They send out ads of their own and their FF version sent data back home https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghostery#Criticism

I Run uBlock *origin*, DuckDuckGo Privacy Essentials, and NoScript. I'd imagine FB does plenty of tracking in-house so I'm not sure what would be blocked vs. still allowed, kinda seems like putting a helmet on to shoot heroin but I may be wrong.
Wasn't Ghostery caught selling loopholes or whatever from ad companies?
 

honegod

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 31, 2000
Messages
6,942
i just joined facebook, then joined the Prusa owners group.
checked out some posts and left to do other stuff.
when I went back to facebook i find my account has been suspended for violating community standards.

wow.
I have not posted ANYTHING on facebook whatsoever.
log out, log in and up this screen pops

fbd1.jpg



nothing resembling a security check that I see here.

wtf facebook.
 

honegod

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 31, 2000
Messages
6,942
as far as I can tell one of the privacy programs is blocking facebook in a way that prevents me from seeing what is happening.
I have ublock origin, facebook container, privacy badger, duckduckgo privacy essentials, and mullvad vpn all running at stock settings.
my standard process would be to change a setting that looks to be the culprit and see what happens.
but I gots no clue where to start.

help ?

asking facebook for help gives me the same result, the thing I am supposed to respond to does not show up on my screen.
implying that I am blocking it.
completely blocking facebook from any interaction with my computer does not seem to work toward my using facebook.
 

Shoganai

Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
852
as far as I can tell one of the privacy programs is blocking facebook in a way that prevents me from seeing what is happening.
I have ublock origin, facebook container, privacy badger, duckduckgo privacy essentials, and mullvad vpn all running at stock settings.
my standard process would be to change a setting that looks to be the culprit and see what happens.
but I gots no clue where to start.

help ?

asking facebook for help gives me the same result, the thing I am supposed to respond to does not show up on my screen.
implying that I am blocking it.
completely blocking facebook from any interaction with my computer does not seem to work toward my using facebook.
Just uninstall each of the extensions until you find which one is doing it.
 

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,283
I put most of Facebooks roots into the hosts file. I tried to block Facebook at the router level but I have a Edgerouter X and the process for that is all command line with the usual linux instructional guide technique of not bothering with the first 8 steps (cos you should know all that! Noob!!!). I don't have time for all that nonsense. And before anyone else chips in "well why did you buy it then?!?", everything else I wanted to do with it was sensibly available in the GUI.
 

scrappymouse

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 18, 2016
Messages
136
This is a bit like asking how to use GoogleMaps without allowing Geolocation on your phone, or blocking GeoLocation, and blocking it's ability to communicate with satellites.....i.e if you have a facebook account they are tracking you, period. Want an indepth...and sorta funny look at how it actually works, check out this story for a laugh...and to learn about how facebook ads work. You are the target, the best you can do is really not provide an real data at all to them, but there is a strong chance they'll detect that and block your account. Set up an email account only used for facebook, use a fake name, age, gender, all fake....everything. Don't friend any of your actual friends etc....they are still going to track the account...but maybe not you, don't give your real phone number, and never download the FB app on your phone....
 

honegod

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 31, 2000
Messages
6,942
they'll detect that and block your account.
this seems to be the case here.
no false data given by me but I suppose they can see that I really do not want to play their game.
so they won't let me.
the really frustrating bit is that I cannot find out what the exact problem IS that has goaded them to this act.
 

honegod

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 31, 2000
Messages
6,942
This is a bit like asking how to use GoogleMaps without allowing Geolocation on your phone, or blocking GeoLocation, and blocking it's ability to communicate with satellites
hmm, that would explain why google maps seems a bit surly.
I just want a map with the place I am interested in pointed out.
I already know where I am. (still, and always, directly above the center of the Earth.)
 

honegod

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 31, 2000
Messages
6,942
yesterday

fb.jpg



today

fbban3.jpg


swell. PERMANENTLY banned, with no recourse, for an unnamed offence.
 
Top