eVGA vanilla 6800 for $283 on Newegg

ToyYoda03

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
1,828
Argh, I would hop on this only if it was the 256mb model and not the 128, not worth it IMO for me (upgrade wise)

edit: this is the 12 pipeline version?
 

djp2k5

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 26, 2004
Messages
64
I ordered one of these yesterday. People are getting a little crazy about Doom 3 and are spending $500+ when this is all you really need. I can definetely live with 1280x1024 and settings on high. :cool:
 

ehZn

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
1,096
djp2k5 said:
I ordered one of these yesterday. People are getting a little crazy about Doom 3 and are spending $500+ when this is all you really need. I can definetely live with 1280x1024 and settings on high. :cool:

Those are the only settings I need, since my lcd is native at 1280x1024 :D

Apparently there will be 256 mb versions of this card eventually, but I can't find them anywhere and they will most likely be way overpriced (think 9800pro 256).

*edit: the downside to this card are lower clock speed and the ddr1, but if you want to get rid of those problems here is the xfx http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=14-150-068&depa=1
 

jackbauer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
1,399
the only problem with this card is that its not a GT. you can spend a extra 100 bucks and get a GT at compusa and the flash it to ultra speeds. also you dont need anyhing more than a 9800pro to run doom3 good. i dont understand why poeple spend 500+ dollars on video cards!!!
 

ehZn

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
1,096
jackbauer said:
the only problem with this card is that its not a GT. you can spend a extra 100 bucks and get a GT at compusa and the flash it to ultra speeds. also you dont need anyhing more than a 9800pro to run doom3 good. i dont understand why poeple spend 500+ dollars on video cards!!!

The point is just that, this card is NOT a GT. This means it's in stock, you won't overpay for it, and for someone like me who only needs good fps at 1280x1024 and not 1600x1200, the regular 6800 is just fine.
 

SilentButDeadly

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2003
Messages
407
djp2k5 said:
I ordered one of these yesterday. People are getting a little crazy about Doom 3 and are spending $500+ when this is all you really need. I can definetely live with 1280x1024 and settings on high. :cool:
Correction. Settings on Medium. IMHO a ATI 9800pro 256mb would be better or just as good to get I think. Then you could even have the settings on high. ;)
 

djp2k5

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 26, 2004
Messages
64
SilentButDeadly said:
Correction. Settings on Medium. IMHO a ATI 9800pro 256mb would be better or just as good to get I think. Then you could even have the settings on high. ;)

No, I really did mean high. My rig is going to consist of a oced A64 3200+ and a gig of PC3500. When I get the 6800 that will get overclocked too. According to the [H]ard|OCP benchmarks a setup like this with a slightly worse processor and slightly higher quality ram is able to achieve High Quality 1600x1200 with no AA and 8x AF and keeping the FPS at an average of 55.5. Not too shabby I'd say.

Now if you wouldn't mind could you show me a 9800pro 256mb doing better? :p I admit it will be hard to find since I've seen the 9800XT with a fx-53 only getting upper 40s fps at only 1024x768.
 
Top