Embarrassing DUH moment regarding ISP speed.

Frek77

Weaksauce
I've been tinkering with computers since I owned a Radio Shack 64k CoCo. I'm about as geeky as you can get when it comes to anything computer related. I have a Degree in Information Technology, I've dipped my hand in just about every aspect of modern computing that you can think of.

Today for the first time I realized that I've been making one of the biggest noob mistakes ever.

This is actually quite embarrassing to share this. I just realized this morning for the first time that when ISP's rate speeds that it is in Mbps NOT MBps.

I just ran a speedtest on my line this morning because I'm considering switching ISP's. I need a better upload speed. For the first time I thought about what is "Mbps". With my background I can't believe I've never noticed this for this long. Boy do I feel dumb right now.

We all have DUH! moments. As long as your learn from those moments, and remember that others make mistakes too, all is good. Thanks for sharing!

Your, not the only one that had this DUH moment.

I had it a few years ago.

Luckily you didn't call and yell at the ISP about it like a friend of mine.

Take it from me, even many ISP employees grapple with the Mbps MBps concept ;)

Yeah man its 30 meg service, sure~! Bits? What are those? No, I don't need any drill bits we are talking about technology here!

I've been tinkering with computers since I owned a Radio Shack 64k CoCo. I'm about as geeky as you can get when it comes to anything computer related. I have a Degree in Information Technology, I've dipped my hand in just about every aspect of modern computing that you can think of.

Today for the first time I realized that I've been making one of the biggest noob mistakes ever.

This is actually quite embarrassing to share this. I just realized this morning for the first time that when ISP's rate speeds that it is in Mbps NOT MBps.