eMachines eOne - iMac G3 look-a-like

we had those at radio shack back in the day, sold for about $800CAN...

I like this one better the "official" version. This had better IO (at the time it was made) options and a PCMCIA (now PCCARD and now dead standard except for the CableCard form factor which those evil cable companies are also trying to make a dead standard) slot for even more options.

Setup the Token Ring PCMCIA network card on one of these things brought into my college campus around 2000. It was a celeron, so performance wasn't a problem.

Lafayette College didn't upgrade to Ethernet switches until after I graduated in 2001, but it was a massive Gigabit backbone. Unfortunately, nobody told them about thee plan to make Gigabit work over RJ-45, so they bought into this shit:

https://secure3.sequoiars.com/ePOS/form=robots/item.html&item_number=W45410&store=464&design=mbl

Ever seen an Ethernet cable this stupid looking?

W45410-alt1.jpg

Looks like they still have this shit installed in over half the campus, and since they bought into a dead standard, they get to keep some factory line open making these things!

Last edited:
Reactions: Halon
like this
Setup the Token Ring PCMCIA network card on one of these things brought into my college campus around 2000. It was a celeron, so performance wasn't a problem.

Lafayette College didn't upgrade to Ethernet switches until after I graduated in 2001, but it was a massive Gigabit backbone. Unfortunately, nobody told them about thee plan to make Gigabit work over RJ-45, so they bought into this shit:

https://secure3.sequoiars.com/ePOS/form=robots/item.html&item_number=W45410&store=464&design=mbl

Ever seen an Ethernet cable this stupid looking?

View attachment 257332

Looks like they still have this shit installed in over half the campus, and since they bought into a dead standard, they get to keep some factory line open making these things!

looks like 2 USB cables pancaked together.