Dual 670 GTX in 2-way SLI and only 24FPS?!?

The Internal

Limp Gawd
Hey all,

I started playing Skyrim again recently and added the SoSENB to it. I play skyrim on my 2560x1440 27" Catleap Yamakasi 2703. I have an old 24" 1920x1200 dell in portrait mode also hooked up / powered on. In NVIDIA control panel, it's set to "maximize 3d performance" and SLI is listed as enabled.

I'm a little confused why Skyrim is averaging a mere 24 FPS. I have every setting maxxed, as well as the SoSENB enabled. The FPS is holding pretty steadily at 24 FPS, mind you, I'm just a bit annoyed that it's not higher.

Is there something I need to adjust in a .ini file or something? Is this "normal" for a 2-way SLI rig for this game? Benches I've seen (at a mere 4x AA) suggest 80+ FPS.

Relevant specs:

Core i5 3570k - OC at 4.4GHz
dual Gigabyte Geforce 670 GTX cards in 2-way SLI (model GV-N670OC-2GD)
16 GB DDR3
Samsung 830 SSD 256 GB programs drive
Windows 8 Pro
NVIDIA driver ver. 310.70

Last edited:
have you tried taking a card out and seeing how many FPS you get? Might be an SLI thing.

I had this happen to me, so I might as well ask..

Are you sure the sli bridge is connected?

Also a good thing is to download msi afterburner and check the gpu usage % of each card while playing. Are you using any big mods?

The bridge is fimly attached. The only "big" mod I'm using is the one listed in my OP: SoSEBN

Last edited:
bleargh. disabled SLI. About the same framerates as with. WTF. In SLI, neither GPU goes higher than around 52% utilization :/ frigginsmiggin.

What sli mode are you using, Try ForceAltFrameRendering 2, if that doesn't work use nvidia inspector and look up the most optimized sli tag. I have 680 sli's and I use quite a few visual mods and higher settings, 4xAA + FXAA, everything maxed etc, and I'm at a constant 100+ fps.