Drivers wont properly integrate into image with Target Manager on Windows Embedded...

Tengis

Supreme [H]ardness
Using Embedded Standard 2009. I ran tap.exe from a fully functional Windows XP environment and used the output to build my image. Using component manager I imported all of the INFs and I got all but one of them to work. After building my image and putting it on a system the drivers are not detected and installed for the devices.

Im new to Windows Embedded... if anyone knows of a good forum that has some good info then let me know.

There are numerous possibilities for your issue. Did you create a repository for the driver's files and point each component to that repository? Did you remember to import those new driver components into your embedded database? Add them to the build in Target Designer?

Look for any errors or warnings after you build the image in target designer. They may clue you in to what is going wrong. Particularly if it can't find the files specified.

You'll probably find a lot more answers and ideas on microsoft's newsgroup for XP embedded:
http://www.microsoft.com/communitie...t.aspx?dg=microsoft.public.windowsxp.embedded

Did you remember to import those new driver components into your embedded database? Add them to the build in Target Designer?
I did that.

Did you create a repository for the driver's files and point each component to that repository?
I have not figured out how to properly do that. Im pointing to the directories of the files. Wanna give me a quick run down? All of the tutorials on how to imports drivers I have found dont mention repositories.

Last edited:
After you import the driver's inf file into component designer, expand the components it creates and look at the file requirements for each component. Gather all those files into a single folder, preferably near where the component file is saved.