Do you think Cannonlake will also need a diff Mobo ?

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by Subzerok11, Oct 12, 2017.

  1. Subzerok11

    Subzerok11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    or do you think if I buy a 370z board now that it will be good for the next couple of Intel gen cpu's ? Just take a guess if you have too.
     
  2. Denpepe

    Denpepe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    189
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Z390 has already been announced for the current/next gen CPU's iirc for q2-3 of 2018.
     
  3. Subzerok11

    Subzerok11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014

    Okay maybe I asked my question incorrectly, Skylake, Kaby Lake shared the same socket. So basically you can use Kaby Lake cpu on a 170z board and a Skylake on a 270z board. We've seen this often where next gen cpu's if built using the same socket can be used on the same board for years until they change the socket type of the CPU.

    So next year would I probably be able to use a Cannonlake on this years 370z board if the socket is the same ?
     
  4. Nexus6

    Nexus6 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    259
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Probably not, no.

    I should add that cannonlake will be mobile only, icelake will be the desktop successor to coffee lake.

    And will at the very least require a new chipset.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
  5. Subzerok11

    Subzerok11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    So they only going to use this socket only once...seems odd to me. But I guess you figure in Cannonlake will go to a new die shrink which will probably change the size of the CPU that would make sense I guess to use a new socket.
     
  6. Denpepe

    Denpepe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    189
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    They changed the pin layout for coffee lake for the power delivery as it has up to 6 cores now, Cannonlake will supposedly have up to 8 cores which apparently they did not know or care about when designing the Z370 boards. Well Z370 are basically slightly altered Z270 boards, the Z390 should be the real coffee lake/cannonlake chipset.
     
  7. Subzerok11

    Subzerok11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Why do you say "should be the real coffee Lake cannonlake chipset"
     
  8. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,510
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    DDR5 and PCIe4 will arrive in 2019 or 2020. This will require new boards for Intel and AMD (not sure if they will support these before Zen3).
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
  9. Communism

    Communism n00bie

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Lock the thread and bold this.
     
    Brian_B likes this.
  10. Subzerok11

    Subzerok11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014

    Cannonlake only going to be mobile this is the first I've heard of this.
     
  11. Denpepe

    Denpepe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    189
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    If you look at the leaked intel slides about chipsets it says that Z370 is KBL refresh PCH-H and the rest of the 300 series is the CNL-PCH-H , and the others are right, cannonlake CPU's are so far rumoured to be mobile only with icelake beeing the desktop derivative.
     
  12. whisper

    whisper Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    446
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    I believe the pin layout for coffee lake matches Kaby, but you're right they did tweak the power delivery to accommodate +2 cores. You can physically drop a new CL cpu into a z170/270 but from what I hear it won't even post.

    I imagine by the time we get to the icelake release it will require another chipset upgrade if not a new socket altogether. This is just speculation but I wouldn't buy z370 with the hope of icelake compatibility.
     
  13. Dk975

    Dk975 Gawd

    Messages:
    783
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    If true, sort of makes sense. Look at Broadwell, first at 14nm and was mobile only except those 4 desktop R variants with Iris Graphics, but weren't they soldered in.
    It is amazing that all mobile Intel chips are now soldered in, even the quad core ones. If Intel did this to the desktop chips, it would piss off the mobo makers.
     
  14. Subzerok11

    Subzerok11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    So if Cannonlake is for mobile in 2018, so that leaves Icelake for desktops in 2019 ? So basically Intel is skipping possibly a CPU release for 2018 then ?
     
  15. Speedeu4ia

    Speedeu4ia n00bie

    Messages:
    50
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Yes Icelake is the Next intel desktop and will be 10nm. Some rumors are last qtr 2018.

    Soo basically kabby and coffee are both dead ends unless z390 will support Icelake/Coffee
     
  16. Subzerok11

    Subzerok11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Everything ends up dead, my 2500k is still serving a purpose that mean it's dead. It's socket is dead but still works for millions of gamers. The way you put it sounds odd, almost like it's a bad idea to upgrade to a Coffee lake platform.
     
    Brian_B likes this.
  17. Speedeu4ia

    Speedeu4ia n00bie

    Messages:
    50
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    If your referring to me I never said dead I said "dead end" meaning no upgrade path.

    It's far from dead or as some like to say obsolete, which I hate. Coffee lake will still be viable for yrs to come at the current pace for cpu tech.


    But you were specifically asking if z370 will work for next Intel CPUs, meaning upgrade path. Which I said no, it's a dead end probably
     
  18. Raendor

    Raendor Gawd

    Messages:
    760
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Depending on what you’re upgrading from. If you mean from skylake or kaby - then yes, it’s a bad idea and you should get icelake. If from something older - it’s not a bad idea.
     
  19. Subzerok11

    Subzerok11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014

    I have a 2500k OC at 4.7GHz with 1060GTX 1080p I'm able to play everything at 60fps at high settings mostly, very happy with my rig. I'd love to upgrade but honestly if I'm hitting 60fps now then whey should do upgrade ? I'm not interested in 144fps either.

    The only upgrade I could see myself doing is getting a SSD.

    I'm thinking I should wait till Icelake ??
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2017 at 4:28 PM
  20. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,316
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Coffee lake is already a dead end since no can buy the effing thing
     
  21. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,316
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    You arent interested until you try it and then you will baef at how shitty 60 fps is. Trust me. I went from 60 to 100 and was astounded and now I have a 240hz panel in addition to my 100hz
     
  22. Montu

    Montu [H]ard DCOTM x4

    Messages:
    6,155
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    It definitely sucks. I'm so glad I pulled the trigger on my 7820X.
     
  23. Subzerok11

    Subzerok11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014

    I went from console 30fps to PC 60fps now your asking me to make the jump to 144fps ?? Is the diff between 60-144 bigger or smaller then the diff of 30-60fps ?
     
  24. Iching

    Iching [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,729
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    As long as you get a g-sync panel.:)